|Grace United Methodist Church
St. Augustine, Florida
|The church was started in 1881 by George L Atkins and Sons hotel proprietors from Asbury Park NJ. They came to
St. Augustine and purchased the old Florida house. At that time, there was no Methodist Church serving white people
in town. The church was organized in the fall of 1881 in the Florida House Liberty Hall in the Governor's house. The
first pastor was Rev. Samuel D. Payne. For a while they met at the Black Methodist Church on St. George Street in
the mornings while the black church met in the afternoons.
The building of the original church, Olivet Methodist, was located on the present site of the Alcazar Hotel at the
corner of Tolomato and King.. In 1888 Flagler made an offer to build a new church and parsonage. On the exchange
of land from Flagler the offer was accepted and Carrere and Hastings designed the Spanish Renaissance poured
concrete building and McGuire and McDonald built it at a cost of $85,000.
The Terra Costa work on the building includes flumes, griffins, and fish swimming in rippling water. Of course, the two
striking connections to the Ponce de Leon Hotel are the cherub on the pulpit and the chandelier that resembles the old
chandelier from the Ponce de Leon dining room.
On January 1, 1888 the first services were held in Grace Methodist Episcopal Church. The Pastor, Reverend Charles
C. McLean and his family occupied the parsonage the previous month. On December 29, 1886 the church voted on
the name Grace Episcopal Methodist Church. Dr. McLean and his family moved into the new parsonage in
December 1887. Bishop Mallalieu dedicated the church on January 15
Grace Methodist Episcopal Church
The evening service at 7:30 will be a New Year's Evangelistic service conducted by the pastor, assisted by Rev. Dr.
W. H. Burns of Chicago, and Rev. M. E. Evans of Canton, Ohio. Special music by the Young People=s choir and
Mr. and Mrs. Hubert B. Johnson will sing several special collections. The congregational singing will also be of more
than an interesting character
Enjoyable Thanksgiving Social (St. Augustine Evening Record, November 28, 1917)
Those present at the Thanksgiving Social given by the Ladies' Aid Society of Grace M. E. Church, Tuesday night,
report a most enjoyable evening. Mrs. F. N. Holmes, the president of the society, and a committee of ladies received
the guests at the door of the Sunday School room, and after a half hour spent informally, the program was rendered.
The Sunday School orchestra under the leadership of T. J. Marshall, played a number of selections during the
evening. Miss Florence Davis sang very sweetly "One Fleeting Hour," by Dorothy Lee and Miss Elizabeth Bass gave
a very clever humorous recitation. A beautiful arrangement of the "Sextette" from "Lucia" was played by Mr.
Marshall. Mr. Rohde and Mr. Yoder, after which was presented a unique rendition of Longfellow's Puritan tale, "The
Courtship of Miles Standish." Mr. Marshall and Mr. Rohde played soft violin music during the whole sketch. While
Miss Ella May Davis read selections from the poem they were illustrated in tableau effect by Joseph Rutter as Miles
Standish. Miss Florence Davis as John Alden, Miss Cleo Rutter as Priscilla, and Alan Dale as the Elder of Plymouth,
all in the Puritan costumes. A stage effect had been arranged and the Puritan settings were admirably carried out both
in the plainly furnished room of Miles Standish and that of Priscilla, with its large spinning wheel. The program was
concluded with orchestra music, after which the ladies of the society served refreshments of sandwiches and coffee.
Special Meetings at Grace Church (St. Augustine Evening Record, Nov. 11, 1928
On next Sunday, November 18th, a two weeks series of special meetings will begin at Grace Methodist Episcopal
Church. The preacher engaged is the Rev. C. Herbert Lindsay, an eminent Canadian preacher and lecturer. Dr.
Lindsay now lives at Richmond, Virginia, but has been coming to Florida during the last few winters. He has preached
in leading churches, and has had a fine reception everywhere. During the war, Dr. Lindsay was in England and
worked under the direction of The War Alms Committee, in an effort to combat the propaganda of the Russian
Communistic forces. It will be a privilege for the people of St. Augustine to hear Dr. Lindsay, and Dr. Farmer hopes
that a good audience will greet the initial addresses on Sunday morning and evening at next week.
In 1937 the pastor was Rev. C. W. Marlin. H. W. Davis was the Sunday School Superintendent. The church
maintained an Epworth League. In 1943 Rev. T. C. O'Steen was pastor of the church. It advertised a Methodist
Youth Fellowship, Epworth League, Junior Choir, Adult Choir Boy Scout Troop 67, and a WSCS.
|1888 picture of Grace Source: Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, Historic
American Buildings Survey or Historic American Engineering Record, Reproduction Number
|Inside view (Note Ponce de Leon cherubs over pulpit.) Source: Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, Historic American Buildings Survey or
Historic American Engineering Record, Reproduction Number (Ex:"HABS,ILL,16-CHIG,33-2")
|Grace United Methodist
Photographer: William Henry Jackson, 1843-1942,
Related Names: Detroit Publishing Co., publisher
Date Created/Published: [between 1880 and 1897]
|Churches of Florida