Hastings Florida
1920 - 1930
Funeral Late Rev. E. F. Ley Wednesday (St. Augustine Evening Record, January 29, 1920)
Hastings Fla. January 29 The funeral of the late Rev. Edward F. Ley, pastor of the Methodist church, at South Hastings
who died suddenly Tuesday afternoon at the Methodist parsonage of hemorage of the brain, was held here Wednesday
afternoon at 3 o'clock. Despirte the inclement weather there was a great outpouring of all classes of citizens. Every
business house in the town was closed during the hour of solemn service conducted by Rev. J. H. Dathill of
Palatka
assisted by Rev. W. B. Christy of St. Johns M. E. church of Hastings.

Peculiarly sad is this death because the pastor had just been assigned in the Hastings charge and had only recently
commenced his duties.

Being a member of the Masonic order, the local lodge of Masons at Hastings attended the funeral in a body and acted
as an escort to the train, the body being sent to
Jacksonville for internment in Evergreen cemetery today.

The deceased who was considered one of the ablest preachers in the Methodist conference is survived by the
bereaved wife, two married daughters in
Jacksonville, one son in New York and one in Arcadia.

Hastings Tells St. Augustine Some Relief is Needed (The St. Augustine Evening Record, October 15, 1920)
Three Pupils to a Desk and Classes Taught in a Barn

Something about an anti-county division committee ... majority of the SJC board of education plus Superintendent of
Public Instruction D. D. Corbett and some of the most influential residents of the Hastings district present ... met to hear
grievances of the Hastings residents and consider remedies for the problems so farmers may be content to remain with
the mother unit of government.

Some Hastings residents want to secede from Saint Johns County.  ...solely because they believe it is the only way to
obtain the improvements they require, which consist principally of school facilities. Members of the board of trade
committee who were present were unanimous in the opinion that Hastings deserves improved schools, and it is probable
that the St. Johns county delegation to the 1921 legislature, which meets in April, will be asked to enact a local act
authorizing the issuance of interest bearing coupon warrants in sufficient sum to provide the school facilities Hastings
demands. This indebtedness would be carried by the entire county, the school board issuing the warrants and making
the money available as soon as the local bill is passed and approved by the governor.

J. W. Case one of the leading citizens of Hastings and a member of the board of trustees for the Hastings school district
attended, as did County Commissioner Gladney, who represents Hastings on the BCC. Case said he had inspected all
the schools in the Hastings school district, and that there are 201 pupils in the Hastings graded school.  Up to this year,
the principal had also taught 9th and 10th grades, but this year an additional teacher was hired for those two grades ...
however, the two grades still occupied the same classroom because of a lack of classroom space in the building.

In another school, 38 students use 30 desks ... two students at each single desk and three students to every double
desk.

The buildings are wooden and the fire escapes, also wood, need repair ... some of the buildings are veritable firetraps,
according to Mr. Case.

The feeling at Hastings seems to be that county division is the best way to get the improvements we need, said Mr.
Case, Abut our people are fair-minded. Case also said the school population was increasing rapidly, and the area was
developing rapidly.

Mr. Gladney said that if the colored schools were not improved immediately, much valuable farm labor would be lost by
the Hastings district, for the colored families were moving to localities where their children could be property educated.

Gladney also said that the people in Hastings had paid for school supplies many times, but did not think they should
continue to do so while their taxes were only supporting schools in St. Augustine.

Gladney also said one school had no building at all and in another location, white children were being taught in a barn.
The school facilities for the negroes were especially poor, [said Gladney] the East Hastings school (colored) having no
building of its own.

S. C. Middleton presided at the meeting.

Mr. Corbett told those present some interesting history about the St. Augustine school. It had been built with current
expense money  teacher warrant funds  under the law enabling the school board to borrow money. The board was
paying interest quarterly at 8 per cent when he came into office ... but it was growing larger all the time. One of his first
acts was to have the legislature authorize the issuance of time warrants at a lesser rate of interest, payable semi-
annually, and with this money the old obligation was retired.

Corbett also thought the people in Hastings would be unfair to themselves to build their schools through district taxation,
while the school in St. Augustine was maintained by the entire county. Just as soon as money is available, Corbett said,
he planned to consolidate some of the schools (white and colored). Wants to continue conveying students (who are
higher than 10th grade) from Hastings and other parts of the county to the high school in St. Augustine. Also mentioned
that the Marianna High School only had one teacher but did not say where the school was located.

Harry L. Brown (member, county board of education) assured the people of Hastings that the board understands their
feelings and wants to work with them on a solution. Dr. Lindsley (also on the school board) said that action by the
legislature would be necessary to provide the money required.

In the end, the committee pushed the issue back on the Hastings people, asking them to prepare a statement of the cost
of the school facilities required, as certain from a lawyer just what can be done in the premises and report to the anti-
county division committee.... The school board will then incorporate the report into its own report to the board of trade,
which will be reported to the legislature.

Chairman Middleton told the Hastings people: This meeting is not intended to smooth over things for the moment, but
what you have heard here is sincere. The people of St. Augustine appreciate Hastings and its needs, especially along
educational lines, and we propose to do what we can.

Hastings Owns The Herald Now (St. Augustine Evening Record, October 19, 1920)
The following announcement made by the Hastings Herald at the head of its editorial column in the last issue of that
publication will be of interest in St. Augustine:

Announcement
Beginning with this issue of the Herald, Hastings will in the future be served by its own newspaper, owned and controlled
entirely in this town. The change was completed on Saturday of last week, when John M. Taylor, who for a year has
been editor of the paper, acquired, the interest of his partner, Harry L. Brown, and became sole owner of the Herald.

The change of ownership will be followed from time to time by a few changes in policy and methods, each of which will
come as a result of long and careful study, and will be intended to improve the service rendered by this newspaper to its
local supporters. The new owner took control of the paper after having wached the development of Hastings for a period
of nearly a year, and having become convinced that its future is bright and what its importance as a community will
continue to increase.

Until such time as Hastings becomes able to support its own printing plant, the Herald, will be printed by the Record
Company in St. Augustine. Under existing conditions the cost of installing a printing plant in this town, expecially one
capable of producing a paper of such mechanical quality as that being produced by the present printers, would be
prohibitive. When the community has developed to a greater extent, however, it is highly probable that means will be
found which will enable this town to have not only its own newspaper but also its own printing plant.
John M. Taylor.

Growth in the 1920s
Hastings enjoyed substantial growth during the boom with the population increasing from 673 in 1920 to 1,035 in 1930.
The town shed some its agricultural character as its downtown expanded with new brick buildings and homes were built
in residential neighborhoods. In 1921, several subdivisions supported development within the municipal limits, including
G. C. Middleton’s subdivision, Hastings Development Company subdivision, McClure’s subdivision, Mettle & Harris
subdivision, and the Model Land Company subdivision. St. Johns Methodist Episcopal Church occupied a prominent site
south of the downtown. Businesses included the Big Brick Garage, Hastings Cold Storage Company, Langford’s
Garage, and the Hastings Herald Publishing Company, which published the weekly Hastings Herald. In 1927, the newly
organized
Hasting Potato Growers Cooperative developed a distinctive building north of the downtown. To the west of
the downtown, the Nix Produce Company and the Whitehouse Barrel Company manufactured shipping barrels for potato
farmers. The railroad tracks, supporting freight and passenger depots, marked the northern extent of the downtown.
Farms encircled the community with the largest African-American neighborhoods to the north of the tracks. A
fashionable new school designed by St. Augustine architect Frederick A. Henderich and built by the O. P. Woodcock
Construction Company of Jacksonville was completed in 1924. Relatively small subdivisions opened by G. W. Waller and
L. S. Killingworth in Hastings's African American community neatly filled with small wood-frame dwellings. In 1928, the
Julius Rosenwald Fund supported the construction of a ten-teacher school on a three-acre tract in Hastings's African-
American neighborhood. The total cost of the one-story wood-frame school amounted to $25,000 with the Rosenwald
Fund contributing $2,100 and public funds supplying the remainder. Outside of the town extensive fields and a rural
agricultural landscape characterized much of southwest St. Johns County.

Thriving Community (by Frances Parish 1979)
During the 1920's and 1930's Hastings was a thriving community. E. G. Coe, owener of the Rexall Drug Store in
Hastings had taken over the agency of United Cigar Stores; Miss Anna Heist, county home demonstration agent was
taking groups of young people to the Florida State Fair in
Jacksonville; Phil S. Taylor was county Farm Agent;' property
was selling for as much as $2,000 per acre. The Kinningsworth block (where the Civic Center is now located) was sold
for $22,000 to a Daytona man. Hastings had a garbage department, which was motorized, a new specially equipped
Ford Motor truck having been put into service. "Old John" the 'trash man', is "About as happy as the owner of a new
Packard, and declares that he can clean up the city three to four times faster than with the old army cart and mule. The
new truck was especially equipped for quick dumping and had solid tires to eliminate all tire trouble. Dr. Gordon Stanton
was a prominent doctor in Hastings. In an item in the St. Augustine Record, it reported he was host to the St. Johns
Medical Society at his home on Stanton Street. "Mrs. Fogarty accompanied Dr. Fogarty and was the guest of Mrs.
Stanton during the evening. Those present were Doctores Fogarty, Potter, Irvin, Walkup, Underwood, Guy, Hay,
Stevens, and Stanton."

Hastings had four paggenger trains north and four south each day. Each were equipped with dining cars and sleepers.
The hastings Herald Newspaper was published daily with M. E. Brewster as Editor. Subscription to the newspaper was
$2 per year or .75 for three months.

Some of the Hastings businesses were Ford Motor Company; The Hastings Herald; B. R. Mimms, Justice of the Peace;
Loland Farms, Inc., J. S. Abbott; E. G. Coe, the Rex All Store; Hastings Cash Store, C. C. Mathis; Carlisle and Goodwin
and Company, The Woman's Shoppe; Bank of Hastings, G. W. Lee, Cashier; Bugbee Distributing Company; Don M.
Barstow, Treasurer; Trueman Fertilizer Company, C. H. McHugh, Representative; Casino Theatre, W. M. Campbell,
Prop., B. L. Padgett, M. D.; City Garage, Bob Lovett, Prop; Hastings Motor Company; Lincoln, Ford and Fordson
Dealers; McElveen Hardware Company; McEleveen and Hanna, Florida Real Estate; G. B. Badger, Your Grocer; E. E.
Slappey, a Good Grocery Store; Mrs. Mattie Brown, The Popular Price Store; T. C. Jones, High Grade Groceries;
Hastings Potato Growers Association; Pilcher Drug Company, Dr. Gordon Stanton, M. D., G. W. Waller, Potato Diggers;
T. R. Byrd, Real Estate; Auburn Porperties, Inc., Charles S. Hersey, Auctioneer; C. W. Maltby and Ansley Hall, Real
Estate.

BEGIN HUNT FOR CITY CANDIDATES; LIMITS DO NOT INCLUDE SUFFICIENT TERRITORY
(from Hastings Herald)

The immediate needs of Hastings, or that portion of it which lies within the incorporated limits of the town, and the
problem of satisfying them is proving a matter of concern to the town officials.

Hastings is unfortunate in its own boundaries which, when the town was incorporated, were drawn too close, the result
being that they now include little more than the actual business center of this section. The result is that instead of being
a town of approximately 2500, as it should be, Hastings is rated as a town of about 600, which is an absurdity.


As matters now stand virtually all the business men who are interested in Hastings live outside the town boundaries,
some of them being barely across the line, yet far enough to be beyond the range of town citizenship. The result is that
Hastings finds itself annually with barely enough citizens to make up a town government ticket and, at the same time,
leave a mere handful of citizens who are not candidates to vote in the election.

Dr. B. L. Padgett, the present mayor, has stated positively that he will not be a candidate for re-election.

Another suggestion which has been made regards the extension of the town boundaries to take in virtually all the
section now known as Hastings. It is urged that, as most of the business men of Hastings live in that section, they should
be called upon to share in the support and upkeep of the town in which their business concerns are located. It is felt,
too, that by incorporating the entire section greater interest could be stimulated in the general welfare of the community
as a whole and that improvements could be made which would gradually develop this section and be beneficial to all
concerned

HASTINGS TOWN COUNCIL -  MINUTES OF MEETING
Regular Meeting of the Council of the Town of Hastings was held on Monday, January 3rd, 1921, in the office of the
Town Clerk at 8 P.M.
Present:   E. E. Durkee, W. H. Wildman, T. R. Byrd,
   E. M. Curtis, F. L. Brown, G. W. Waller,
   C. H. Bachelder, C. E. Roberts, B. L. Padgett;
   also, J. B. Hughes, D. W. McElveen, and
   C. W. Maltby.

Mr. C. H. Bachelder, President of the Council, ordered the roll of the old members of the Council called, and the
following were found to be present:

E. E. Durkee, W. H. Wildman, E. M. Curtis, and C. H. Bachelder

Absent:  Frank Bartlett.

C. W. Maltby acted as Clerk, pro tem.

Dr. B. L. Padgett, retiring Mayor, then administered the oath  to the incoming Mayor, C. E. Roberts.

Upon motion, duly carried, G. W. Waller was elected President of the Council for the ensuing year, and thereupon
entered upon the duties of his office.

Nominations for the office of Clerk were called for.

Upon motion, duly carried, E. S. Miles was elected Clerk of the Town of Hastings for the ensuing year, at a salary of
$12.50 per month, plus $1.00 for each case in the Mayor's Court; 254 a head for releasing impounded stock; 254 for
each license issued; 404 for each summons issued; and two (2%) per cent on all tax collections during the ensuing year.

Nominations for the office of Treasurer were called for.

The name of Patrick Johnson was presented, and

Upon motion, duly carried, Patrick Johnson was elected Treasurer of the Town of Hastings for the ensuing year, at a
salary of $25.00 per year.

The following gentlemen then appeared at the meeting and requested a hearing from the Council:

Rev. H. A. Hunt, J. W. Case, M. A. Minton, L. D. Register,
S. A. Minton, C. H. Campbell, and H. C. McKinney

Their request was granted and Mr. Case advised that they had come before the Council at this time in the interests of
law and order in the Town of Hastings and that they would like to see some immediate action taken to do away with the
liquor business in and around Hastings, and also keep out carnivals and travelling tent shows such as we have been
having in Hastings during the past few weeks.

Rev. Mr. Hunt spoke very emphatically in connection with the lawlessness rampant in Hastings and requested that the
Council take steps to have the ordinances enforced. He stated that they had not come to criticize the Council but to
show them that they were behind the Council in anything they might do towards making Hastings a better town in which
to live.

The members of the Council expressed their willingness to do all in their power to bring about better conditions here,
and a general discussion of the situation followed.

The President appointed D. W. McElveen and C. W. Maltby as a Committee to solicit subscriptions from the merchants
and business men in and around Hastings to help make up a fair salary for a Town Marshall and report the result to the
Mayor at the earliest possible date so that he might be in a position to secure the services of a Marshall.

HASTINGS TOWN COUNCIL
MINUTES OF MEETING

Regular Meeting of the Council of the Town of Hastings was held on Monday, January 7th, 1921, in the office of the
Town Clerk at 8 P.M.

The following committees were appointed by the President:

Street & Lane Committee        E. E. Durkee, Chairman
                                   E. M. Curtis
                                   C. H. Bachelder

Finance Committee                 C. H. Bachelder, chairman
                                   W. H. Wildman
                                   F. L. Brown

Fire Committee                        E. M. Curtis, Chairman
                                   C. H. Bachelder
                                   T. R. Byrd

Sanitary Committee                 F. L. Brown, Chairman
                                   E. E. Durkee
                                   W. H. Wildman

Police Committee                    C. H. Bachelder, Chairman
                                   E. E. Durkee
                                   W. H. Wildman

Ordinance Committee              E. E. Durkee, Chairman
                                   T. R. Byrd
                                   C. H. Bachelder

Building Committee                 W. H. Wildman, Chairman
                                   F. L. Brown
                                   E. M. Curtis

Regular Meeting of the Council of the Town of Hastings was held on Thursday, January 17th, 1921, in the office of the
Town Clerk at 8 P.M.

L. C. Carpenter employed as Town Marshall at a salary of $100.00 per month

Also at this meeting -- an ordinance regulating the riding of bicycles, tricycles, kiddie cars, and roller skating in the Town
of Hastings was enacted.

Minutes of Meeting held on March 7, 1921
Mayor Roberts reported that L. C. Carpenter, Town Marshall, had resigned. Hired Mr. J. R. Payne for the position of
Town Marshall at a salary of $100.00 per month. Reported that he had looked over the references and found them
satisfactory.

Also discussion regarding mule [assuming it is trash truck mule] and
Bill for $7.00 from J. A. Smyly for shoeing and clipping mule

Special election for Mayor held 16 June 1921 .. Roberts resigned; believe he was leaving the area.

Tie vote ... what to do? Don't think they did anything except appoint an acting Mayor. Names of tied people did not show
up in minutes as town officers.

September 5 Meeting
J. R. Payne resigned as Marshall; P. A Turlington appointed, but town cannot afford to pay him the $100.00 per month
salary.

September 19 .... mentions another street lamp on the "brick road leading to St. Augustine"

Also ... Mr. F. L. Brown brought up the question of building an incline on which to dry the fire hose instead of stretching it
out on the sidewalk to dry, as is being done at present. He stated that he had secured permission from Messrs. Bowles
and Brenizer to build an incline on the back part of their property and along side of the Town pound lot.

Upon motion, duly carried, it was Voted:

That the Deputy Clerk be instructed to secure prices from Lawrence Yelvington on the lumber required to build an
incline seven feet wide by fifty-six feet long, four feet high at the end and one foot high at the lower end...

Also, several of the merchants asked if the "brick street" could be marked for parking cars. [Council agreed to do that]

October 24, 1921 Meeting:
BUDGET FOR THE YEAR 1922
Street work                                                                $ 1,500.00
Scavenger                                                                        780.00
Mule feed and expenses                                                460.00
Lights                                                                        720.00
Rent of Court Room                                                        132.00
Marshall                                                                1,200.00
Clerk & Tax Collector                                                375.00
Tax Assessor & Treasurer                                                75.00
Blum note and interest                                                650.00
Fire Department                                                        200.00
Sinking Fund                                                                1,000.00
Attorney Fees                                                                180.00
Tools, Lanterns, Kerosene, repairs
to garbage cart, office expenses,
telephones, etc.                                                        503.92
Accounts due October 1st, 1921                                750.00
   TOTAL                                                        $8,525.92


The Deputy Clerk advised that the Tax book had been totalled and the assessed valuation as shown by the 1921 tax
book was as follows:

   Real Estate                                                $295,295.00
   Personal                                                        115,246.00
           TOTAL                                                $410,541.00

Hastings Potato Growers Association
On August 8, 1922 the Hastings Potato Association was formed.

Braswell
L. A. Braswell and Etta Davis Braswell moved to Hastings from Macon, Georgia in the early 20's. Mr. Brawell was a
Charter member of the
Hastings Rotary Club, a farmer, and served as County Commissioner during his life here. The
ridge, at Deep Creek, is dedicated to Mr. Braswell. Mrs. Braswell was a Past Matron of the Hastings Chapter, Order of
Eastern Star, and active in church and community affairs. Their children, all deceased, were Robert, Lillian (Maltby), Vira
(Smith) and L. A., Jr.

May, 1924 Work begins on Hastings High School
The new structure would be built on a 10 acre campus in the heart of the town.

1925 (Florida Gazetteer)
HASTINGS ... Population 900. An incorporated town on the F. E. C. Ry. and near St. John's river, in St. John's county,
18 miles south of St. Augustine, the judicial seat. Has a bank, a newspaper,
the Herald, a theatre, Baptist and Methodist
churches. Bus connections with St. Augustine and Palatka. Tel., W. U. Telephone connection. Exp., Sou.

Businesses Listed in the Gazetteer:
Allen, Bessie S. (Mrs.) - hotel
Anderson & Turlington - autos
Bailey's Novelty Works
Bank of Hastings (capital $15,000), J. E. Lambert, pres., W. G. Lee, cashier.
Brown, Mattie (Mrs.) - milliner
Buchanan, Wm. M. - restaurant
Bugbee Distributing Co. - vegetable brokers
Burt, R. M. - real estate
Byrd, T. R. - hotel
Campbell, Leda - notary
Carlisle Godwin & Co. - dry goods
Cawthon, Mrs. R. B. - jeweler
Coe, E. G. & Co. - drugs
Curinton, U. L. - grocer
Curtis, E. M. - garage
Daniels, L. & Son - grocer
Diaz, Stanley - restaurant
Dowdy, E. H. - general store
Durkee, E. E. - potato grower
Farmers Mfg. Co. - cooperage
Fox, W. B. - Veterinary surgeon
Hastings Cash Store - general store
Hastings Cold Storage Co. - F. E. Bugbee pres., Frank Nix vice-pres, Don Barstow secy and mgr. ice and electric lights
Hastings Cooperative Assn. - E. H. Dowdy mgr.
Hastings Development Co. - G. W. Waller sec.
Hastings Herald (weekly) - Hastings Publishing Co. Inc., publishers
Hastings Motor Co. - autos
Hastings Publishing Co. Inc. -  publishers Hastings Herald
Hastings Telephone Exchange (B. L. Brown, F. E. Bugbee)
Johnson, Patrick - dentist
Kaiser, Fred R. - meats
Kavanaugh, Ada - notary
Kempke, H. G. - garage
Langford's Garage
Lattin, C. A. - physician and drugs
Lee, W. G. - cashier, Bank of Hastings
Leonardy, George B. - live stock
Littlefield, C. D. - notary
McElveen, D. W. - hardware
McKinney, H. C. - notary
Marcus, Harry - clothing
Mimms, B. R. - barber
Mims, T. M. - dry goods
Moody, I. H. - grocer
Nix Produce Co. - fertilizers and brokers
Padgett, Benjamin I. - physician
Peck, I. C. - contractor
Pilcher Drug. Co.
Register, L. D. - grocer
Ridge Turpentine Co.
Roberts, Z. J. - men's furnishings
Schuirman, E. J. - general store
Slappy, E. E. - grocer
Smithdeal, Cyrus H. - notary
Stanton, Gordon - physician
Stonestreet & Miller - garage
Surprise Store Co - dry goods
Waller, George W. - wholesale produce
Whitehouse Barrel Co. - cooperage
Williams, H. H. - notary

Hastings to have Modern High School (The St. Augustine Evening Record, April 15, 1924);
Structure is Handsome and Will be Along Spanish Lines of Architecture
Fred A. Henderich Has Drawn Plans
Construction will Begin About May 1st and Will be Rushed

Hastings= handsome new high and graded school building ... is a splendid example of the modern and convenient in
school structures, and the picturesque in architecture. Work on the new building is expected to commence May 1st the
board of public instruction now advertising for bids, and construction will be pushed thru the summer and fall, with the
hope of having it ready by the end of December.

The location of the building is on a beautiful ten-acre site in the town of Hastings, which the board of public instruction
has been fortunate enough to secure at a reasonable figure.

With a frontage of 268 feet by 116 deep, the building will contain 20 rooms, including 12 standard classrooms,
laboratories, domestic science dept., study hall, offices, and in accordance with the latest health precepts, a cafeteria,
where hot food may be served when desirable. The plans call for equipping of the rest rooms and toilets in a most
modern and sanitary manner.

The auditorium is in the rear of the center section, and will accommodate 650. The stage, dressing rooms, and stage
entrances, also general exits, are arranged with the thought of comfort, convenience, and safety. The floor of the
auditorium is level, and this, with movable seats, will admit of its use for gatherings of various kinds.

The building will be heated by hot water and lighted by electricity.Class rooms have cloak rooms accessible only from
the class rooms, and containing a locker for the teacher. Another locker in the class room will contain space for the
class library and supplies. A court is formed on each side of the center, and there are typical mission cloisters on the
two sides of each court.

The exterior finish will be of the coquina shell stucco so successfully used for some years past by the architect, Fred A.
Henderich, and noted on some of the handsomest buildings in St. Augustine. This buff stucco finish will be relieved by
stone trimmings and wrought iron.

The exterior with the tile roof, will be decidedly Spanish and will be good to look at, being constructed by graceful and
beautiful lines.

In detail, the fitting up of the interior is along lines of efficiency and economy, both of maintenance and operation,
architect Henderich states.

Odom
James Arthur Odom and his wife and two children moved to Hastings in 1925. Odom, born in Carrabelle, Florida was a
mechanic and was associated in business with Emmett Curtis in a garage located on the old Dixie Highway just east of
the city park. In 1928 he bought a garage west of Hastings, and there, he was the first in this area to do arc and
acetylene welding. He developed a one row potato digger to be pulled by a small tractor, this being the first to be drawn
by a tractor, as the ones formerly had been mule drawn. Later, Odom and Ernest Wilson began to build cabbage carts
and well drilling machinery. Mr. and Mrs. Odom were the parents of eight children, 5 served in the service of the United
States.

Brenizer
K. R. Brenizer and his wife, Aleve Williams Brenizer, came to Hastings from Live Oak in the mid twenties. He was very
active in community affairs, his greatest interest - sports. It was through his influence that a baseball diamond was made
and young men in the community formed a team and played teams from surrounding towns. Brenizer was one of those
who worked very hard o get an athletic field built in Hastings. His only son, Ray, graduated from Hastings High School
and was an outstanding athlete. Brenizer's sister, Imogene, married George Middleton, a native of St. Johns County,
who grew early Irish potatoes in Hastings. He died as a young man of pneumonia. His children were Mary Catherine,
David and Vivian.

HASTINGS TOWN COUNCIL  MINUTES OF MEETINGS
Meeting held October 6, 1925 at 7:30 p,m. in the office of the Town Clerk.
Clerk        C. W. Maltby
Council consisted of:        W. R. Sellers
                           G. W. Waller, President
                           E. B Bowles
                           Z. J. Roberts
                           A. B. Miller
                           E. M. Curtis
                           J. J. Brown

Ansley Hall was Tax Assessor

Notice in Paper:
NOTICE

BOARD OF EQUALIZERS MEETING
Notice is hereby given that the Tax Assessment Roll for the year 1925 is now open for inspection in the office of the
Clerk and Tax Collector, Byrd Building, Hastings, and that the Board of Equalizers will hold their first meeting on
Thursday, October 15th, at 8 P.M. for the purpose of hearing complaints and making adjustments in assessments.
                           C. W. MALTBY
                           Clerk of the Town of Hastings

Note: Messrs. E. B. Bowles, A. B Miller, and W R. Sellers

BUDGET FOR THE YEAR 1926 TOWN OF HASTINGS
Street Work & Repairs to Sewer System                   $  700.00
Sinking Fund [1913 Bonds]                                        1,200.00
Sinking Fund [1925 Bonds]                                        2,400.00
Completion of Sewer System                                      1,000.00
Scavenger - wages                                                     1,300.00
Mule expenses                                                               475.00
Lights, renewals, etc.                                                     875.00
Rent of Court Room                                                       132.00
Town Marshall                                                                900.00
Clerk & Tax Collector                                                     375.00
Tax Assessor & Treasurer                                                75.00
Fire Department                                                             250.00
Attorney fees                                                                    180.00
Sewer Motor Power & Maintenance of
Pumping Plant                                                                600.00
Care of Sewer Motor                                                        180.00
Rent of Fire Engine Room                                                60.00
Cutting Grass & Weeds on Vacant Lots                         250.00
Tools, advertising, bonds, office expense
and other miscellaneous expense                                800.00

   TOTAL                                                        $11752.00


The Clerk advised that the 1925 tax assessment roll had been totalled and that the assessed valuation as shown
therein was as follows:
           Real Estate                                        $706,169.00
           Personal Property                                173,288.00
                   TOTAL                                        $879,457.00


In order to secure sufficient money to cover the 1926 budget a levy of 13 mills for all purposes in the Town of Hastings
was found to be necessary, as shown by the following statement which was prepared, showing the amount of taxes,
licenses and fines which it was estimated would be received during the year 1926:

           1925 Taxes                                        $11,432.94
           Back Taxes                                               300.00
           Fines                                                         200.00
           Licenses                                                 1,000.00
                           TOTAL                                $12,932.94

           Less 10% allowance for
             uncollected taxes                                 1,143.29

           Total estimated receipts:                    $11,789.65

Town Council Meeting .. November 16, 1925
The matter of improving the service being given the citizens in collecting garbage was discussed, and it was stated that
it might be a good plan to notify all the citizens of Hastings that in the future it would be necessary for them to place their
garbage on or near the street in order that the garbage collector will be able to collect the garbage more quickly and
take care of the collection of the garbage twice a week.

Upon motion, unanimously carried, it was voted:

That it be hereby declared necessary for the citizens of Hastings who wished to have their garbage removed by the town
garbage man to place their garbage and trash in cans, barrels or boxes on or within ten feet of the street or sidewalk
and that Mondays and Fridays be hereby declared garbage collecting days; also that the Clerk be instructed to have
necessary notice published in the Herald and reprints of the notice made and handed to the Town Marshall and the
garbage man for distribution, or forward notices by mail if necessary; also that Monday, November 30th, be declared the
first day for this to take effect.

Mr. J. J. Brown offered the Town the free use of a dumping ground on the north side of the Federal Point Road and East
of Cracker Branch.

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That the offer of Mr. J J. Brown of a free dumping ground be hereby accepted with thanks.

The Committee appointed to purchase a truck reported that a truck had been purchased from the Hastings Motor
Company, engine No. 12547184, equipped with dump attachment and solid tires, at a total cost of $720.90 delivered.

The Clerk was instructed to arrange a loan with the Bank of Hastings for $720.90 and

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That the President and Clerk be hereby authorized and instructed to sign the necessary note for $720.90 and pay the
Hastings Motor Company in full for the truck.

The Clerk was instructed to place Fire, Liability and Property Damage Insurance on the truck at once.

John Merkerson, garbage man, appeared at the meeting and stated he would work for $30.00 per week and pay
expenses of gas and oil to operate the truck.

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That John Merkerson, garbage man, be paid $30.00 per week for his services, with the understanding that he pay all
expenses of gasoline and oil used in the operation of the truck.

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That Z. J. Roberts be authorized to buy two garbage barrels with close fitting tops, at the best price possible.

The matter of garage room for the garbage truck was take up, and,

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That E. M. Curtis be authorized and instructed to have the present storage house at the sewer pumping plant made
large enough to accommodate the truck.

Mr. J. J. Brown made an offer of $15.00 for the mule and harness, and,

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That the offer of J. J. Brown to buy the old mule and harness for the sum of $15.00 be hereby accepted.

Minutes of Adjourned Meeting Council of Town of Hastings
An adjourned meeting of the Council of the Town of Hastings was held in the office of the Town on Tuesday, December
8th, 1925, at 5:30 p.m.

Present:        G. W. Waller
           J. J. Brown
           E. B. Bowles
           A. B. Miller
           W. R. Sellers

Absent:        E. M. Curtis
           Z. J. Roberts

The President stated that the first order of business would be the canvassing of the returns for the General Election
held this 8th day of December 1925.

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That the Council resolve itself into a canvassing Board for the purpose of canvassing the returns of the General
Election.

The Clerk thereupon presented the returns of the Inspectors of the General Election, and read same as follows:

Hastings, Florida, December 8th, 1925
To the Honorable Town Council,
Hastings, Florida

Gentlemen:

We, the undersigned, Inspectors and Clerk of the General Election of the Town of Hastings held this 8th day of
December, A.D. 1925, do hereby certify that we have duly canvassed the returns of said election and found the
following results:

For Mayor:
G. W. Lee                         Twenty-three (23) Votes
For Councilmen:
M. E. Brewster                  Twenty-three (23) Votes
A. B. Miller                        Twenty-four (24) Votes
E. E. Slappey                    Twenty-three (23) Votes
W. H. Walker                     Nineteen (19) Votes
E. B. Bowles                      Two (2) Votes

                                                   John A. Cody,
                                                           Inspector
                                                   C. A. Lattin,
                                                           Inspector
                                                   E. S. Miles,
                                                           Inspector
                                                   P. A. Turlington,
                                                           Clerk.

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That the returns of the General Election held on December 8th, 1925, as certified by the Inspectors and Clerk, be
accepted and ordered filed, and a copy of same spread upon the minutes of this meeting.

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That the following report of the canvass of the returns of the General Election be hereby adopted:


                                   Hastings, Florida,
                                   December 8th, 1925


We, the members of the Council of the Town of Hastings, Florida, hereby certify that we have examined the report of the
Inspectors and Clerk of the General Election held in the Town of Hastings, Florida, on the 8th day of December, 1925,
and the following is a true and correct statement as shown by said report:

For Mayor:
   G. W. Lee                                Twenty-three (23) Votes
For Councilmen:
   M. E. Brewster                        Twenty-three (23) Votes
   A. B. Miller                        Twenty-four (24) Votes
   E. E. Slappey                        Twenty-three (23) Votes
   W. H. Walker                        Nineteen (19) Votes
   E. B. Bowles                        Two (2) Votes

                                                   G. W. Waller,
                                                   J. J. Brown,
                                                   E. B. Bowles,
                                                   A. B. Miller,
                                                   W. R. Sellers
                                                         
                           Members of the Town Council


Whereupon, upon motion, duly carried, it was Voted:

That G. W. Lee be hereby declared elected as Mayor for the term of one year; and that Messrs. M. E. Brewster, A. B.
Miller, and E. E. Slappey be declared elected as Councilmen fr the term of two years and Mr. W. H. Walker be declared
elected as Councilman for the term of one year.

The Board of Public Instruction St. Johns County, Florida St. Augustine, Florida
December 9th, 1925

Mr. C. W. Maltby, Clerk
Town of Hastings
Hastings, Florida

Dear Mr. Maltby:

Concerning the matter of the taxes as reported due on account of the property purchased by the School Board from
one J. V. Walton; this in amount of $218.90, this has been brought to the attention of the Board at the last meeting and
the following conclusion reached:

Whereas, it was the understanding of the Board at the time of purchase that the payment of these taxes was to be a
part of the consideration, and we also feel that inasmuch as the Board have allowed such adequate school facilities to
Hastings, both from a scholastic and general school condition as well as a financial allotment, this being some ten
thousand dollars in excess of the original budget of $97,000.00 not to mention the high type of faculty provided, and as
the insurance on this building in amount of $65,000.00 has been let to Hastings agencies, and that the Board have
been forced to pay in excess of $2,000.00 for sewerage laid in the city streets for which we received no interest but
instead were forced to pay 7% on this for the greater part of each year, we do not feel that this should be our obligation.

Thanking you to present this to your city commission at the next meeting and trusting they will see pleasure in writing of
the books as far as we are concerned.

With kindest regards,
                                           Robt. B. Meserve
                                              Your Co. Supt.

After discussion of the matter of cancellation of the unpaid taxes on the 10 acres now occupied by the new Hastings
school, as per the request of the Board of Public Instruction,

Upon motion, duly carried, it was voted:

That the unpaid Town taxes on the school property be cancelled and the Clerk authorized to have the lien removed.

Churches in Hastings (The Hastings Herald, December 30, 1927)
First M. E. Church, South
Rev. W. O. McMullan, Pastor
Sunday School at 10 a.m., A. C. Padgett, Supt.

First Baptist Church
John F. Gable, Pastor
The Brick Church on The Boulevard
Sunday School 9:45 a.m., B. A. Minton, Supt.

Mt Olive Baptist Church
Rev. Joseph Thrift, Pastor
Sunday School at 3 p.m., Dr. L. H. Bartee, Supt.

St. Johns M. E. Church
Rev. Addyman Smith, Pastor

Christmas Day Passes Quietly in Hastings (Hastings Herald, December 30, 1927)
Christmas passed very quietly in the Hastings section with no fatalities to sadden the day. Churches were filled at
services Sunday morning despite inclement weather.

Monday which was observed as a holiday by all business houses the city was spent in hunting and some sportmen
report splendid luck.

Merchants report unusually good business for the holidays, even better than they had anticipated, and of course are
feeling good over this.

As far as The Herald is able to ascertain, no family in this section suffered from lack of plenty to eat and other Christmas
fixen's.

Three New Faces Go on Council Monday Night (The Hastings Herald, December 30, 1927)
Lee to Take Oath as Mayor Again.
Will Re-organize.
Garrett, Middleton, Hamilton and Miller Take Oath.

Three new members of council take the oath of office at the regular meeting of council Monday night. They are Chas. J.
Garrett, Chas. A. Middleton and J. D. Hamilton. M. E. Brewster, E. E. Slappey and H. A. Wylls, are the retiring members.
A. B. Miller is the only member of the present council who was a candidate for re-election and he will take oath to serve
the city for an additional two years. G. W. Lee will take the oath to serve the city as mayor for another year.

The present council will meet, hear reports and wind up any unfinished business, when it will adjourn while the new
council takes oath of office and organizes for the year. The hold-over councilmen are G. W. Waller, W. R. Sellers and
W. H. Walker and with A. B. Miller, Chas. J. Garrett, J. D. Hamilton and C. A. Middleton will compose the board for the
coming year.It is presumed that the new council will proceed immediately with the naming of officers for another year.
They will name a city clerk and tax collector, tax assessor, treasurer, city attorney, city judge, and upon recommendation
of the mayor, a chief of police.

G. W. Waller Reminds Growers of Grader Needs (Hastings Herald, March 15, 1929)
G. W. Waller, local agent for the well-known Boggs Potato Graders, is this week calling attention of the growers to the
fact that the digging season is at hand and they should begin at once checking over their graders and list all parts
needed to put them in shape.

Mr. Waller also states that he has received a carload of new Boggs Graders and carries in stock a full line of repair
parts, electric motors, Cushman engines and, in fact, everything for the handling of potatoes....

Mr. Waller maintains the services of Mr. Addington, who is an expert on all farm machinery, and growers who have not
the time or otherwise unable to overhaul their machinery, will do well to get in touch with Mr. Waller before the last
minute rush.

Williams
John Williams was born a slave. He was sold when he was twelve years old. He received his last name from his master,
whose last name was Williams. John married Janie Moore and to this marriage came fourteen children. John and Janie
Williams came to Hastings in 1929, to visit a relative on Mrs. Greenfield's farm in East Hastings. The family settled in
Hastings on W. P. Smith's farm in the old Dan Biggs house. During that time, potatoes were dug with rakes and pour4ed
into barrels. The children were very small. They could not use large potato baskets, so eight pound lard buckets were
given to them to pick up potatoes. After Mr. Smith sold his farm, the Williams family moved to the Rhyman's farm where
John did sharecropping. The family worked hard and the children walked many miles carrying bags of corn to town to
the mill to be ground. When the Rhyman farm was sold, Dick Beck moved the Williams family to his farm. Later, the
family moved to the Stephenson's Bulb farm. There, Janie Williams died at the age of 53 in 1940. While living on the
Stephenson's farm, the two youngest children graduated from high school from the Hastings Vocational Training School.
John William died in 1958 at the age of one hundred and seven. Two of the children of John and Janie Williams stayed
in Hastings. Drunella and her husband, Moses Jones, Sr., lived on Holtz Street and Sallie Mae and her husband, Bennie
Smith lived on Chase Street.

Hamilton
Don Hamilton and his wife and two children moved to Hastings from New Hampshire in the early 20's. When the Hastings
Potato Growers Association was formed, Hamilton became field manager. He was associated with farming in this area
until his death. After his demise, his wife and daughter moved back to New Hampshire. His son, Louis and wife lived in
St. Augustine. Both Louis and Betty, as well as their parents are now deceased.

Annual Spring Argument (Hastings Herald ... April 5, 1929)
The annual spring argument about taking the boys out of school and putting them to work in the fields will soon begin in
the farm home. The father is very busy. Plowing and planting must be done on time.

It is hard to hire men that can be trusted with the machinery or the horses. Hired men mean more work in the kitchen for
the mother and daughter. The school may not be interesting. The boys are dependable, like to be out of doors, and are
proud to take a man's place and help with the work. That is the easy, lazy way of looking at it and the boy gives up his
spring school term and becomes a rural child laborer. If that occurs two or three years in succession he has lost his
chance for an education.

The stronger, better way is to sacrifice something of present comfort and expediency for the child's future welfare. By
this work this spring or next spring the boy may save to the family two or three dollars a day for a few weeks, but he
does it at a very great loss to himself and probably to his people. He is giving up the time that should be used to
deepen, broaden, and refine his life. Besides that, if he does no get proper schooling and enough of it now, he will not
be able to earn as much as he ought when he becomes a man. Then he, too, will feel that his children must give up their
chances for an education and spend their childhood days at some kind of labor. That may be the way to bring the entire
family to a finer plane of life.

NOTICE OF DISSOLUTION OF THE HASTINGS LAND & IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:
Notice is hereby given that the undersigned, owners and holders of a majority in interest of the capital stock of the
Hastings Land & Improvement Corporation, will on the 4th day of November A. D. 1929, apply to the honorable Geo. W.
Jackson, Judge of the Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit in and for St. Johns County, Florida, for an order dissolving
said corporation, to-wit: the Hastings Land and Improvement Corporation. Petition for dissolution now on file with the
Clerk of the Circuit Court of St. Johns County, Florida.
Dated with 2nd day of October, A. D., 1929.
   R. T. HEWITT
   G. A. BEAN
   LILLIE R. CAMPBELL, NEAL.

Hastings Motors becomes Stanton Motors
In 1929 the Ford Motor Company dealership changed names from Hastings Motors to Stanton Motors and would be a
anchor business on Main Street for over 50 years. (See
Stanton Motor Company)

A. D. Ramsey Was Painfully Injured in Car Crash (The Hastings Herald, October 4, 1929)
A. D. Ramsey, chief electrician for the Hastings Power and Ice Co., was painfully injured Sunday night when his small
coupe crashed into the wall of a bridge on the Palatka road near the home of C. H. Bachelder.

According to Mr. Ramsey's statement, he was returning from Ormange Mills about ten o'clock Sunday night and when
near the bridge had dimmed his lights for an approaching car which did not dim its light, this blinding Mr. Ramsey and he
could not see the bridge wall until his car had crashed into it. He was traveling alone, and it is believed that he was
unconconscious for some time before Christ Stanton came along and found him in a dazed condition an brought him to
town for medical attention.

Mr. Ramsey was severely cut about the legs and was badly bruised in the chest which will cause him to be confined to
his home for several days. His car was also badly damaged.

This makes the second bad accident on the same bridge in the past year, and Putnam county authorities should see to
it that deflecting wings painted white be placed at such bridges so they can be seenat night by those who travel the road.

Hastings Car Falls in Line OST Motorcade (The Hastings Herald, October 4, 1929)
"Daddy" and Mrs. Brown Make Trip
Left Wednesday
Browns Carry 4000 Folders Giving Brief History of Section.

When the Old Spanish Trail motorcade left St. Augustine Wednesday morning for its westward trek to San Diego, Cal,
"Daddy" and Mrs. J. J. Brown fell in line with Hastings' official car all dolled up with banners which will herald to the
westerners a few facts about Hastings, the center of Florida's famous potato belt.

"Daddy" and Mrs. Brown had not made it known until last Saturday that it was their intention to make the trip and through
the thought and quick action on the part of C. H. Bachelder and others, banners were painted and about 4,000 neat
folders giving a brief history of the Hastings section were secured, these will be distributed along the rougte thus giving
Hastings publicity that would otherwise cost hundreds of dollars.

The following interesting story of the starting of the motorcade comes from the
St. Augustine Record:

Headed by O. H. L. (Dad) Wernicke, Pensacola man appointed as chairman of the St. Augustine to San Diego
motorcade by the officials of the Old Spanish Trail, and Commissioner Elwood C. Salmon, official representative of the
City of St. Augustine, the Old Spanish Trail motorcade started its long trans-continental trek at 7:15 o'clock Wednesday
morning with
Jacksonville as its first stop.

When the two motorcade cars arrived at the Osceola Park zero marker, they were met by a number of local citizens who
had gathered to wish them luck on their long journey. City Manager W. N. McDonald, J. H. Turner, secretary of the St.
Augustine Chamber of Commerce, and a representative of the
St. Augustine Record constituted the official send-off
committee, and F. Victor Rahner, local photographer, was on hand to take photographs of the cross-country drivers and
those who turned out to see them safely off. Then,l led to the city limits by a municipal motorcycle patrolman, the
motorcade geot under way.

Commissioner Salmon had with him 700 miniature Old Spanish Trail zero markers, one of which he will present to every
mayor along the route. He also carried approximately 1,000 St. Augustine pamphlets for distribution along the route.

The motorcade was scheduled to arrivein Jacksonville at 8:45 o'clock Wednesday morning, where it was to be joined by
the Jax contingent and then proceed west to Pensacola where Dad Wernicke will be met by a large number of
Pensacolans who are treking west from there.

According to the present plans, cars are to be picked up all along the 3,000 mile route, and it is believed that there will
be easily one hundred or more in the motorcade by the time San Diego, Cal., is reached. The entire trip requires some
fifteen days.

The east to west motorcade is by way of being a return call from the eastern terminus of the Old Spanish trail out of
courtesy to the westerners who made the trip last year at the official opening of the beautiful scenic highway across the
country.

New Fire Truck Was Given Final Test Tuesday (The Hastings Herald, October 18, 1929)
Town Officials Witness Demonstration

Modern Outfit

First Payment of $1,000 Made Wednesday---$300 Paid on 1930 Note.

The new American-LaFrance fire truck recently purchased for the town of Hastings, and which will also serve the
outlying districts within the five mile fire zone, was given its final test Tuesday before it was accepted by town officials.

H. T. Gleason, factory repressentative, was here and demonstrated every feature of the machine in the presence of
Mayor Walton, several members of the council, members of the fire department and a number of citizens. The machine
is guaranteed to pump 500 gallons of water per minute but during the test it exceeded this by 80 gallons more per
minute.

This truck is modern in every way besides its pumping capacity of 580 gallons per minute, it carries a 60 gallon booster
tank, 1500 feet of fire hose, ladders, small extinguishers and tools. The turck is powered with a motor rating 89 horse
power.

Purchase of the new truck was made through liberal contributions of the various companies and corporations operating
in Hastings and other nearby communities. Enough money was raised in this way to make the first payment of $1,000
and $300 was paid on the second note which falls due in the latter part of 1930.

The town of Hastings has agreed to pay the balance due on the truck but through a plan worked out by Chief Proctor,
no increase will be necessary in the town's budget another year to take care of the payments on the truck. It is believed
that next year's budget for fire protection can be cut from $500 or maybe $500 as compared with this year and still be
able to meet the payments.

One of the first things Chief Proctor did was to bring about an extension of the fire zone which takes in a radius of five
miles and includes the town of Federal Point. Property owners living outside of the corporate limits of Hastings, and
within the five mile zone, can have fire protection by paying a small fee annually. Money raised in this way goes into a
special fund for the purpose of retiring notes on the truck as they fall due.

The new truck gives Hastings and surrounding sections better fire protection and much credit is due Chief Walter
Proctor, whose untiring efforts have made it possible.

Much Hastings Freight Shipped via Palatka (The Hastings Herald, October 11, 1929)
For some time close observers have watched considerable freight billed to Hastings coming via Palatka by boat, and
much of the farm products from this section are being shipped via the same route. This is probably due to the low water
rate and excellent boat service between
Jacksonville and Palatka.

A large percentage of the corn, vegetables and other farm products from Hastings has been shipped by boat from
Palatka during the past few months and it is believed that a heavy tonnage of fertilizer and seed potatoes will come into
Hastings this year by the water route.

Hastings has suffered exhorbitant freight rates for many years but the people throughout this section are fast learning
that a big saving can be realized if they handletheir frieght through
Palatka. Thanks to the Progressive Palatkans who
are offering every facility and inducement to relieve Hastings of its freight burden.

Casino Theatre Makes Changes in Show Nights
Was located on the west side of Main Street at the corner of Lattin Street. C. W. Maltby did the bookkeeping and sold
tickets; Ansley Hall, Sr. ran the projector.

The theatre showed only silent movies at first, with music provided by a piano. Dave was the piano player, and Mrs.
Jean Maltby said he only knew four or five different pieces of music, but he could play them differently, according to the
picture, and no one in the audience could tell the difference! The piano was also played by Professor Carter (brother of
Benny, James and Nathan Carter), and by Margaret Beck Bailey, Clarice JohnsonEvans, and Frances McElveen Parish.
Horses running at top speed was accompanied by Margaret playing "Rustle of Sptring."

Messrs. Maltby and Hall were friendly with the film distributor, who told them in advance when the "talkies" were going to
be on the market. Maltby and Hall installed the necessary sound equipment in their theatre before theaters in St.
Augustine or Palatka could, so the first six months that "talking pictures" were out, people had to go to Hastings to see
one. The people in Hastings would buy their tickets early in the day, and when the people from St. Augustine and
Palatka arrived, there were no seats left!

When "talking pictures" first appeared, the sound was on records. Bill Sellers played the records that accompanied the
film and had to make sure the mouths of the actors were "in sync" with the sound. The film speed could not be adjusted
so he had to adjust the records by making them turn slower or faster so the sound matched the actors' moving lips!

Mintons Have Taken Charge of Hotel Hastings (The Hastings Herald, October 11, 1929)
Mr. and Mrs. Sherman Minton have taken over the Hotel Hastings and will be in charge during the coming season. The
hotel is being renovated throughout and according to Mr. Minton, the dining service will be the best that can be had at
any hotel of like size along the east coast.

The hotel is owned by Minton Brothers, who also do farming extensively which will enable them to give patronsof the
dining room fresh vegetables, poultry and other farm products at all times. Accoridng to present plans, special Sunday
dinners will be a feature under the new management. Most housewives do not care to stand in their kitchens and cook
on Sundays and no doubt many people throughout this section will take advantage of this service at the hotel.

Hotel Hastings is modern in every way and with the good service promised by both, Mr. and Mrs. Minton, will become
one of the most popular hotels in the state.

The Hastings Herald Back on Its Feet (The Hastings Herald, October 18, 1929)
The News is pleased to know that the Hastings Herald, voice and organ of the capital of the potato belt, has been re-
organized and re-financed and is in better position than ever to serve its home community.

Listed among the stock-holders, thereby assuring success of the venture, are a number of the leading business men of
Hastings and environs. All of these have put money into the enterprise, not so much as a business venture but because
they realize the need of a medium of community expression. They know, as every business man everywhere should
know, that the community without a newspaper of its own is not likely to get very far on the road to the progress. And
being aware of this they are willing to back their home newspaper to whatever extent is necessary to put it over.

Under the guidance of J. A. Wallace, who has edited the Herald for the past year and who has been connected with it in
some capacity for half-a-dozen years, our neighboring contemporary should be well on the road to prosperity and
usefulness.l Its opportunity for service has been broadened.----
Palatka Daily News.

The reorganized ownership replaced G. C. Middleton, Hastings, Fla.; D. C. Townsend, Hastings, Fla; C. W. Maltby,
Hastings Fla; G. W. Waller, Hastings, Fla; E. E. Durkee, Wauchula, Fla; G. H. Heath, Sebastian, Fla; Estate of F. E.
Bugbee, Hastings, Fla; Estate of B. L. Peck, Palatka, Fla; E. G. Coe, Hastings, Fla; R. M. Burt, Palatka, Fla; Tom
McGuire, Address unknown; Geo. Leonardy, Hastings, Fla; W. R. Sellers, Hastings, Fla; Byrnia Killingsworth, St.
Augustine, Fla; M. E. Brewster, Eustis, Fla; Bugbee Distributing Co., Hastings, Fla; H. R. Dyer, Hastings, Fla; L. O.
Larson, Agent, Hastings, Fla.

Masters-Geissman Wedding Brilliant Event (The Hastings Herald, October 25, 1929)
Miss Mae Geissman and Mr. Willard Masters were united in marriage Wednesday morning of last week at a pretty
wedding which took place in
St. Ambrose church, Moccassin Branch, with a nuptial mass celebrated by Father Kelley.
The church was beautifully decorated with yellow daisies and goldenrod and potted plants.

The bride was charming in yellow georgette with hat and accessories to match. Miss Katherine Masters, only sister of
the groom, who acted as maid of honor, wore a becoming dress of pink georgette. Victor Geissman, brother of the bride,
was best man for the groom.

After the ceremony the bridal party enjoyed a wedding breakfast at the home of the groom. In the evening a reception
was given by the bride's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Geissman, at their home on Mountrie street.

Mr. and Mrs. Masters will make their home in
Elkton.

Four-H Club Meeting (The Hastings Herald, October 25, 1929)
The 4-H Club held a meeting Friday afternoon at the school house with Miss Heist in charge. The following officers for
the coming year were elected are are as follows:
President--Ethel Robshaw.
Vice President--Miriam Ivey
Secretary -- Ala Martin
Treasurer--Katie Smith.

Several new girls joined the Club, making a total membership of thirty-seven.

Miss Heist explained the work for the coming year. The Club will meet the second Friday of each month. Every girl is
urged to attend who is interested in this kind of work.
Custom Search
Hastings Water Irrigation
1929 Hastings

CASINO THEATRE
Friday and Saturday
August 23-24

FAMILY NIGHT
1  354 Ticket and 1  154 Ticket Will
Admit the Whole Family
          
SEE
KARL DANE
AND
GEORGE K. ARTHUR
IN
"CHINA BOUND"

A LAUREL and HARDY COMEDY
WRONG AGAIN"
Like us on
Facebook
Hastings African American School
1928
Northern Methodist Church, Hastings - 1930
Located at the junction of SR 207 and Boulevard South
(Rev. John Hoch, pastor)
Hastings Founding to 1910
Hastings 1910 - 1920
Hastings 1920 - 1930
Hastings 1930-1940
Hastings 1940 - 1950
Hastings 1960-1970
Hastings Potato Growers
Association
Hastings High School
Hastings Rotary Club
Hastings Vocational High
Hastings Masonic Lodge
Stanton Motor
Curtis Odom Garage on Old Dixie Highway
Left to right - James Arthur Odom, George Hart, John Odom, Mr. Akers, Gus Tomlinson