|Post World War II
ab urbe condita - 380 to 395
|Red Cross Will Open Work Rooms Tomorrow at 2:30 (St. Augustine Record, January 2, 1946)
Mrs. S. S. Chapman, chairman of the Red Cross sewing and knitting rooms on Hypolita Street, which will
reopen tomorrow Thursday, Jan. 3, from 2:30 to 4:30 o'clock, urges the women of St. Augustine to continue
giving their help. The war emergency is over but a great many boys are still overseas, and a tremendous
additional number are in hospitals
In the knitting department of the Red Cross, socks, helmets, and mufflers are made. They give additional
warmth and comfort to the service people far from home.
In May 1946 the airport was returned to the city. For a while we had air postal service and two passenger
World War II Marker placed near Public Market 1946
The St. Augustine Pilot Club dedicated the marker to those who died in World War II. Names from the Korean
and Vietnam War were added later.
1946 City Commission
In 1946 the St. Augustine City commission was recognized as the outstanding city commission of the year by
a statewide municipal magazine. Leslie Stevens was the city attorney. Herbert E. Wolfe, Frank Tart, Frank
Harold, Charles Leyvraz were city commissioners. George Young was Mayor. Pauline Boyt was city clerk.
Elwood Hartley was the fire chief. Herbert Gooch was the city manager. William Lindsey was police chief.
Elwood Hartley joined the fire department in 1921 and served the city until 1963.
January 1, 1948 the Lightner Museum of Hobbies was opened in the old Alcazar Hotel by Otto Lightner. The
Board of Trustees consisted of Mayor Frank Harrold, Frank J. Tart, and Judge David R. Dunham. Herbert J.
Wolfe and C. L. Beals were appointed for life. Otto C. Lightner died on June 9, 1950. Services were held in St.
Augustine at the Craig Funeral Home. Lightner is buried today in the courtyard of the old Alcazar Hotel.
February 1951 a two-inch snowfall hit St. Augustine. This was the first snowfall in 34 years and beat the
previous record of 0.7 inch in 1917.
Florida Memorial Accreditation
In 1951 Florida Memorial College was accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary
Schools and it was also approved by the Florida State Department of Education.
Proposed New St. Augustine Negro High School (St. Augustine Record, April 18, 1954)
Work is expected to start this summer on the new St. Augustine Negro High School, shown above. Only the
front classroom section and cafeteria are to be built this year. The new high school is to be located west of the
The combined gym and auditorium, band room and industrial arts department are included in the overall plans
but will not be built until later.
The 14-classroom structure and cafeteria will cost around $225,000. The building will be of concrete block wall
with brick veneer. The high school building will be of modern one-story design.
County Superintendent John A. Crookshank pointed out that the state requires that ample classroom
accommodations are built first before the construction of other buildings such as gyms, band rooms, etc.
The school board plans to start work this summer on a new elementary school for Negroes at Hastings.
F. A. Hollingsworth is the architect for the Negro high school building.
Death of Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
December 14, 1953 Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings dies at Flagler Hospital. She was the author of Cross Creek
and The Yearling. For a time she lived in Castle Warden which she had transformed into a hotel. Later she
lived in Crescent Beach.
1951 Gary Cooper comes to St. Augustine to star in the movie Distant Drums. The movie is about the
Seminole Indian War of the 1840s. However, in this movie Gary Cooper blows up the Castillo as a haven of
arms dealers. The movie is located in south Florida. Anyway, it's the only place you'll ever see the old Castillo
being blown up.
More Florida Memorial
In 1954 Florida Memorial College obtained membership in the Association of American Colleges and the
American Council on Education.
In 1958 the local chapter of the American Association of University Professors was organized at Florida
Memorial. Dr. Leslie E. Hartley was the president. Dr. William C. Lee, secretary-treasurer; Dr. R. Edward
Trinity Episcopal Expands
The Rev. Charles Seymour was called to Trinity 1949 and served until 1964. In 1955, a two-story education
facility and Parish Hall were added, and in 1966 an Aeolian-Skinner organ was added.
St. Augustine Extends its Military Tradition
In the 1950s Major General Ronald L. Bailey was born in St. Augustine. He graduated from Austin Peay State
University, Clarksville, TN in 1977 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology. On 1 July 1977, he was
commissioned a Second Lieutenant.
After graduation from The Basic School, Infantry Officers Course and the Basic Communication Officers
Course in August 1978, he was ordered to the 3d Marine Division in Okinawa, Japan to serve with 2d
Battalion, 4th Marines as a Rifle Platoon Commander and 81mm Mortar Platoon Commander.
In October 1979, Major General Bailey was assigned to Marine Corps Recruit Depot, Parris Island, SC as a
Series Commander, Battalion S-3 and Commanding Officer of Company F, 2d Recruit Training Battalion.
During this tour, he earned a Masters Degree in Business Management and Administration from Webster
University. He also attended Amphibious Warfare School and was commanding officer of Company C and
Weapons Company Commander at 1st Battalion, 6th Marines. He was commander of the 2d Light Armored
Reconnaissance Battalion.From August 1997 to 1998, Major General Bailey attended National War College,
Washington, DC where he earned his second Masters Degree in National Security Strategy. He had many
positions throughout the Marine Corps till June 2011 when Major General Bailey was assigned to Camp
Pendleton, California and assumed command as the Commanding General 1st Marine Division.
Major General Bailey's awards include the Defense Superior Service Medal with bronze oak leaf, Legion of
Merit with combat V, Meritorious Service Medal with 2 gold stars, Navy and Marine Corps Commendation
Medal with gold star, the Navy Marine Corps Achievement Medal, Presidential Unit Citation, and the Combat
St. Augustine Historical Society Purchases Houses
In the early 1950s the St. Augustine Historical Society purchased three colonial buildings. It also became a
member of the National Council for the Preservation of Historic Sites and Buildings.
St. Augustine Historical Planning Commission
Still active the St. Augustine Historical Planning Commission used part of its state money for the restoration of
the Llambias house which was completed in 1955.
Creation of Richard J. Murray High School
March 21, 1955 Richard J. Murray High School opened. It was the second black high school. Richard J.
Murray was the first principal. Murray was principal until 1970. Mr. Murray would know all the families that
attended the school . (Other principals include: Mr. A Malcolm Jones, Jim Smeland, Carolyn Lucas, Bernard
Scott and Tyrone Ramsey.
Richard Jerome Murray was born in South Jacksonville, Florida. His education included the Episcopal
Parochial School, Stanton High School. He then attended and received his A.B. degree from Florida A & M
and the M.A. degree from Ohio State University. Further study was done at Penn State, Ohio State and the
University of South Florida.
Richard Murray began his teaching at Moultrie, Florida, Armstrong, Florida, and then West Augustine School
No. 6. He later became principal of Excelsior High School, and the Richard J. Murray High School, which was
renamed in his honor.
His ambition was to become a dean of students and he was always interested in the field of education since
blacks at that time were excluded from most of the other well since blacks at that time were excluded from
most of the other well paying position.
He remained a principal for 39 years and in education for 43 years with five years at Edward Waters College
in Jacksonville, Florida.
Chase Funeral Home
The Leo C. Chase Funeral Home was established June 5, 1955.
Leo C. Chase was born in Jacksonville. He was reared in Green Cove Springs, Fla, and graduated from the
Old Stanton High School. He received his training in the field of mortuary science at the Renovard School for
Embalmers, New York City, and was employed at Huff Funeral Home for many years, prior to establishing his
funeral home in St. Augustine.
Mr. Chase was a member of St. Benedict the Moor Catholic Church, and he also held membership in the
Florida Morticians Association, Inc., the Lily White Lodge No. 97 and the Pallbearers Society No. 295.
400th Anniversary Celebration gets started
On March 25th, 1957 the St. Augustine City Commission passed a resolution that "The year nineteen hundred
and sixty-five shall be the Florida Celebration of the Four Hundredth Anniversary of the City of St. Augustine,
Florida, and that Good People everywhere shall be invited to participate in this celebration."
Willie Galimore hired by Chicago Bears
March 30, 1935 - July 27, 1964) was an American football running back for the Chicago Bears from
1957-1963. He attended Florida A&M University, working with the legendary coach Jake Gaither. Galimore is
a member of the College Football Hall of Fame.
Resolution of Respect (St. Augustine Record, June 19, 1987)
In Memory of Miss Anna E. Heist, former County Home Demonstration Agent, who passed to her reward on
March 31st, 1957.
In the sudden and unexpected passing of Anna E. Heist, the Elkton Home Demonstration Club members lost
not only an outstanding leader but a conscientious and personal friend. In her thirty-five years of association
with the club as its leader, organizer and friend, it passed through a most successful period of constructive
development. She was widely known not only in Demonstration Clubs but also in civic and Service
organizations of the County and State. She was known for her progressive spirit and fine quality of leadership.
Palm Valley Gets Its School
The Ponte Vedra-Palm Valley Elementary school opened in the fall of 1959 on land donated by Eunice Pitt
Odom. The school started with 127 students with Mrs. Merkin Purcell as principal. It started with 6 classrooms.
Revival of Preservation
On June 19, 1959 state legislation creating the St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation
Commission was signed into law by Governor LeRoy Collins. This was the first major historical preservation
agency created in the state. The statute provided for a seven-member board appointed by the Governor "to
acquire, restore, preserve, maintain, reconstruct, reproduce, and operate for the use, benefit, education,
recreation, enjoyment, and general welfare" of the people the "historical and antiquarian sites" in St. Augustine
and its environs. Using the material from the earlier St. Augustine Historical Planning Commission the state
commission proposed to conduct a program of restoration or reconstruction of colonial and territorial
structures throughout the central part of the city in anticipation of the 1965 400th Anniversary Celebration. In
the first ten years the commission bought 34 parcels of land and restored or reconstructed 29 buildings.
The 50s and early 60s would also see the restoration of the Gonzalez Alvarez (Oldest House) to its Spanish
and British period heritage.
The African American Elks Lodge on Washington Street was dedicated on February 22, 1915.
First Director of the Historic St. Augustine Preservation Appointed
Earle Williams Newton II, headed the program of restoration in the nation's oldest city from 1959 to 1968,
when he resigned to accept a position as director of the Pensacola Restoration Commission.
Through his efforts, the Spanish government provided funds for the construction of Casa del Hidalgo, and
American companies through the Organization of American States constructed the Pan American Center. Mr.
Newton hosted many foreign dignitaries who visited St. Augustine to view the restoration efforts.
A New Age of Rehab begins in the Oldest City
In 1960 the St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission purchases the Arrivas House.
This house was identified as an important 1st Spanish Period house from the early 1937 St. Augustine
Historical Planning Commission. The rehab would be one of the highlights of the 400th Anniversary
The Canova-de Medicis House, Garcia-Dummitt House , DeMessa-Sanchez House , Gaspar Papy House,
Segui-Smith House , Don Pedro Fornells House, Pardes Sequi MacMillan House, Manuel Solana House and
the Public Market among others would also be studied.
Go to Civil Rights 1960-1965
|Major General Ronald L. Bailey
|President Harry Truman
|President Dwight David Eisenhower
|St. Augustine of Hippo