DON PEDRO HORRUYTINER HOUSE
Lindsley House
214 St. George Street, St. Augustine

Library of Congress
HABS FLA-130
NRHP 71001014
1st Spanish
FLORIDA St. Johns ST. AUGUSTINE

Horruytiner, Don Pedro, House
Structure  
214 St. George St. Coquina masonry, 41'-6 1/4" (four- bay front) x 35'-2", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof j
with parapet and corbie-step gable end, modified
"St. Augustine Plan" (side loggia). Built last haif 18th c..; 19th C. additions and alterations. Third floor rebuilt, parapets
and corbie-step gable added c. 1908.

DON PEDRO HORRUYTINER HOUSE
Address
:214 St. George Street, St* Augustine, St. Johns County, Florida.
Present Owner: Horace E, and James H„ S. Lindsley.
Present Occupant Only the first floor is now in use as a real estate and Use: office. It was used as a residence until the
ear|y 1960's.

Statement of Significance:
If sections of the masonry construction date from the first Spanish Period in St. Augustine and the Horruytiner
"attribution" is therefore correct, the house can he associated with a family prominent in the early presidio of St,
Augustine. Luis Horruytiner was governor of Spanish Florida (1633-38), and an earlier Pedro Benedit Horruytiner was
governor
ad interim, 1652-54.


PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION
A, Physical History:
A house can "be identified on the site with some degree of certainty at the time of the first
Spanish evacuation In 1763 (#215? Block Q, Juan Elixio de la Puente Map., 1764; copy in the library of the St. Augustine
Historical Society, 22 St. Francis Street, St. Augustine). This is described as a "house of stone" belonging to Don
Pedro Benedit Horruytiner y Pueyo. When Charles Howard bought the property from Robert Gatherwood in 1785 (see
chain of ownership below) he described the house as "uninhabitable" (
Escrituras, July 1784). When Howard sold the
property to Juan Cavedo in September of the same year the house is described as a "stone house of 2 stories
(
Escrituras, 1784)

When the house was sold to Antonio de Entralgo In 1787; it Is recorded as a "2 story house of wood and stone"
(
Escrituras, 1787). On the Mariano de la Rocque Map of 1788 (copy in library of St. Augustine Historical Society), the
plan of the house is schematically given and corresponds quite well with that of the existing house before the 19th
century alterations and additions,

All that can safely be inferred from the above is (l) there was in all probability a house on the site at the time of
the de la Puente transfer (first Spanish evacuation), (2) this house was of stone masonry although we know nothing
about its plan or appearance? (3) it continues to be described during the English and Second Spanish Periods as a
stone masonry house, and (4) on the RocqueMap of 1788, the plan resembles that of the present house. Since there is
no record of major destruction or rebuilding (Charles Howard's statement above may only refer to neglect), and since it is
reasonable, to assume that in any lesser program of rehabilitation or alteration, existing masonry walls would be retained
whenever possible, it is quite likely that we have in the construction, and to some extent the form, of this house a
substantial remain of the First Spanish Period (1565-1763).

1. Original and subsequent owners:
1763 Pedro Alcantara Benedit Horruytiner y Pueyo (Puente Transfer, July 9, 1764: Escrituras 1785, p. I64).

1764 Juan Slixio de la Puente (Puente Transfer, Papelas de Cuba,. Lega,1o-372, Seville, Spain).

1764 James Henderson (Puente List in St. Augustine Historical Society file;
Escrituras 1785, p. I64).

Between 1764 - 1785 - Robert Catherwood (Fatio certified No. 2 Jenkins Block legal property of Catherwood [
Escrituras
1785, p. 164].

Henderson and Catherwood owned the house during the British Occupation of Florida (1763-1783).

March 8-10, 1785 - Charles Howard (
Escrituras 1785, p. 164)

September. 17, 1787 - Juan Cavedo (
Escrituras 1787, p. 387)

May 10, 1787 - Francisco Antonio de Entralgo (
Escrituras 1787, p. 2).

January 31, 1801 - John Lazaro Henry (
Escrituras 1801, p. 16)

July 31, 1801 - Fernando de la Masa Arredondo (
Escrituras 1801, p. 105).

March 28, 1839 - Virginia Watson by auction —U.S. Marshal's Deed.


(2 Writs of Fieri Facias ~ St. Johns County Records Deed Book »N", p« 407), .

December 3, 1845 - Ora Howard - - - by. auction —  U.S. Marshal's Deed. . (St. Johns County Records Book "P", p. 80).

March 6, I848 -
George R. Fairbanks - - - by auction - -Sheriff's Deed. (Howard mortgaged to Sanchez who assigned to
Hunter^.Fairbanks acting for Hunter.. St, Johns CountyRecords Book "P"  p. 173).

November 9, 1848 ~ Fanny Hanham (St. Johns County Records Book "P", p. 173).

1854 (Will) - James Hanham, husband and two sons after his death. (Book of Wills and Letter of Administration Book
I, pages 268, 269. Mr. Hanham died before 1866 as son William sold his half to John S. Phillips who resold to Ann
Greeno, then James sold his half to Mrs. Greeno.

1866 The Hanham sons: William To John S-. Phillips (Book "Q", p. 376).

1866 Phillips to Ann Greeno (Book "Q", p. 378).

1867 James, his half to Ann Greeno (Book "Q", p, 45l).

1866-1867 Ann Greeno (St. Johns County Records Book "Q'"  p. 378-481).

1893 George S. Greeno - husband of Ann Greeno (WILL dated January 2, 18S8-. Mrs. Greeno died
1893. Book 8, p. 387).

November 26, 1896 - Dr. Horace Lindsley. (St. Johns County Records Deed Book "XX", p. 432).
NOTE: All of the foregoing changes of title are based on a documented research report made on the house by Eleanor
Phillips Barnes for J, H. S, Lindsley in 1955. Most of the Spanish documents cited may be consulted in the library of the
St. Augustine Historical Society*

April 1964 - conveyed by will of Mrs. Horace Lindsley to Horace E. Lindsley and James H. S. Lindsley.

2. Date of erection: Unknown? probably originally before 1763. House in its present form probably dates from the
English Period (1773-1783) or more likely from the Second Spanish Period (1783-1821).

3.
Architect and builder: Unknown.

4.
Original plans, etc.: None known; little likelihood of recovery.

5.
Notes on alterations and additions: Many 19th century alterations; one-story ell and other wooden additions; main
stair and various interior alterations; balconies probably rebuilt in the 19th century. Brick parapet and corbie-step gables
added by Dr. lindsley c. 1908; new roof and third floor rebuilt at same time. No satisfactory chronology for most of the
alterations can be obtained.

One curious remnant of former construction should be mentioned. Between the floor of the south room on the second
floor and the ceiling of the first floor (against the wall) a shallow brick vault has been enclosed. This vault which
measures about 21 x 41 is framed between headers at each end and abutted by a floor joist and a fragment of coauina
wall cantilevered beyond the wall below. The most probable interpretation seems to be that this is the vestigial remains
of a former fireplace and hearth.

A 12" x 12" recess of uncertain purpose occurs in the coquina wall.

6. Important old views: None has so far come to light.

B. Sources of Information
Mrs. Eleanor Phillips Barnes-researcher; St, Augustine, Florida.

Recollections of Mrs. Horace Lindsley; St. Augustine, Florida.

Records of the St. Augustine Historical Society, St.Augustine, Florida.

PART II, ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION

A. General Statement
1. Architectural character:
The plan of the Horruytiner House is one of several types common to early St. Augustine
(see: Manucy, Albert.
The Houses of St. Augustine,. 1565-1821. St. Augustine, Florida: St. Augustine Historical Society.,
1962). The masonry, which in part may date to the first Spanish Period, is of archaeological interest.

2. Condition of fabric: Well preserved, although maintenance is necessary, since it is now largely unoccupied.

B. Description of Exterior
1. Number of stories and bays
; over-all dimensions; layout:Two-and-one-half stories, four x four bays: 41!-6 1/4"
(front) x 35,-2", exclusive of wooden additions;rectangular layout and shape.

2. Foundations: Coquina "blocks [Note: "Coquina" is local shellstone quarried on nearby Anastasia Island and used
for construction in St, Augustine since 15&G (letter to King from Governor Pedro Nenendez Marques? December 27?
1583)

3. Wall construction: Coquina blocks squared and laid in roughly horizontal courses; plastered inside and out;
exterior painted and? at one stage,- scored to simulate ashlar; south wall and loggia have had recent coat of
shell-dash cement stucco applied. Parapets and corbiestep gables of brick plastered. Wooden additions have
stud walls with common siding.

4. Porches: Two cantilevered, narrow wooden covered balconies (south and east elevations) supported on slender
brackets;

19th century detail.
5. Chimneys
: Three chimneys of coquina and brick.

6. Openings :
a. Doorways and doors
: Doors of various types, none original, except narrow arched-headed double French
doors onto balconies which may be early 19th century.Simple masonry openings,

b. Windows: Mostly nine-over-nine light, twelve-oven twelve light, double-hung wooden sash, Windows have stained
glass in simple geometric pattern in wooden muntins.

c. Shutters: None in place; but fixed louver type supposedly from this building (fit small stained glass windows and
French doors onto balcony) have been recovered (possession of Kenneth W, Dow, 250 St. George Street, St.
Augustine).

7. Roof:
a. Shape and covering:
Gable roof with parapet on south and east; hexagonal asphalt-cement shingles over
wooden sheathing.

b. Eaves: Simple eaves with exposed rafters on west(rear); parapets on south and east; no parapet on north elevation
since the building abuts multi-story
Lyon Building.

c. Dormers: Five dormers; those on the east side have brick corbie-step gables, with two-over-two-light, double-hung
wooden sash; those on the west (rear) have gable roofs and two-over-two-light, doublehung wooden sash.


C. Description of Interior
1. Floor plans:
The plan of the Horruytiner House is basically that described by Albert Manuey in his book, The Houses
of St. Augustine 1565-1821
(St. Augustine, Florida: St, Augustine Historical Society, 1962), p. 55f as the St. Augustine
Plan. "This plan is found in two forms. The more popular one has a loggia (open-sided room) as an integral part of the
plan, centered on the side. The other version substitutes a sheltered porch for the loggia. In both cases, the main
entrance was through either the loggia or porch, which opened into the yard."

2. Stairways; Interior stairway: Two-run wooden stairway to second floor (two-run to third floor), molded mahogany
rails and turned mahogany newel posts, two (rectangular in section) balusters per tread. Exterior stairway in loggia:
Three-run masonry stairway covered with wooden treads and risers, and wooden rails.

3. Flooring: First floor and loggia: Mosaic tile of various shapes, some with decorative borders and centerpieces (all
late 19th century). Second floor: Wooden plank with modem hardwood flooring laid over older plank floor. .
Third floor: Wooden plank floor.

4. Wall and ceiling finish: Plaster throughout.

5. Doors and doorways: Variety of types mostly replacements. Some old (19th century) six-paneled wooden doors. The
slender glass-paneled, French-type, curved head doors to balcony of some interest.

6. Trim: In general, simple unmolded wooden trim; some 19th century pilaster trim with corner blocks. Wooden
mantels with carpenter detail,

7. Hardware: Modern replacements.

8. Lighting: Modern electric fixtures.

9. Heating: Four fireplaces, gas stoves, and unused steam heat radiators.

D. Site
1. Faces east on St. George Street; east facade is directly on. sidewalk; garden on south and west; wall cf adjacent
multi-stories building abuts on north.

2. Enclosures: Masonry walls enclose property on south, east, and north.

3, Landscaping, gardens: No formal landscaping; informal planting of semitropical species; old coquina well in
garden.

Prepared by Henry G. Edwards, Architect
National Park Service
August 1961
AMD
Supplemental data by
John C. Poppeliers,
Architectural Historian
National Park Service
March 1965
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1961
VIEW FROM SOUTHEAST - Don Pedro Horruytiner House,
214 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1961
WEST (REAR) ELEVATION - Don Pedro Horruytiner House,
214 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1961
DETAIL OF LOGGIA - SOUTH ELEVATION - Don Pedro Horruytiner House,
214 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1961
SECOND FLOOR, SOUTHEAST ROOM DETAIL OF MASONRY
CONSTRUCTION - Don Pedro Horruytiner House,
214 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County,
FL
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1961
DETAIL OF INTERIOR OF LOGGIA - Don Pedro Horruytiner
House,
214 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County,
FL
The following 3 pictures are from
Francis Benjamin Johnson  
1937.
Titled Lindsley House.
View from South
2005
Photographer: Gil Wilson
St. Augustine from 1920s to WWII
St. Augustine from WWII to
1960
Casa Amarylla
St. Augustine Rebounds
Sequi-Smith House
Villa Flora
Public Market
Arrivas House
Villa Rosa
Canova deMedicis House
Ximenez-Fatio House
Villa Zorayda
Gonzalez Alvarez House
Seavy House (Union General)
Warden Castle
Garcia Dummitt House
Don Pedro Horruytiner House
Huertas-Canova House
(Prince Morat House)
DeMesa-Sanchez House
Father Miguel O'Reilly House
Bishops House
Archtectural Styles and Periods
Gaspar Papy
Don Pedro Fornells
Reconstruction Properties
Sanchez-Burt House
Tovar House
Pardes Segui MacMillan House
Don Manuel Solana House
Structure List
     
Custom Search
Like us on
Facebook