Return to Dr. Bronson's St. Augustine History

Go to Boarding Houses
Flagler's
St. Augustine
Hotel Competition
Did Henry Flagler have competition in St. Augustine?
The short answer to this question is no. There was no competition to Henry Flagler. The closest thing
to competition to Flagler was the San Marco Hotel. He took the builders, the manager, sometimes the
orchestras, and the train station. Later the hotel was burned by arsonists. After that there was no
quality competition. Even the San Marco suffered from its age.  It was built in the time of gas as
opposed to the time of electricity. (See what 2 years will do.) Even Flagler was on the cusp of change
as private bathrooms were added year by year to the
Ponce de Leon Hotel.


The Major St. Augustine Competition
Most of the hotels opened only for the winter season, which could extend from November through
May. Late openings or early closings meant that guests would simply move to other hotels. The hotel
proprietors usually managed a hotel in a northern state in the summer; like their wealthy guests, they
wintered in the south and spent summers in the north. The hotel maids, waiters, etc. did the same thing
in many instances. Henry Flagler broke the pattern by not offering a northern hotel. However, his
managers were allowed to advertise their summer hotels (including adding the name of the other hotel
on the Flagler hotel stationery). If the manager was good at his job, guests would "follow" the manager
from hotel to hotel.

NOTE
What's the difference between a boarding house and a hotel?
For the purpose of these pages -
how they advertised. If you look at the pictures you may notice that some hotels are smaller than
boarding houses, some boarding houses look like they should be hotels.  (See
Boarding Houses)

                            
The Competition
Florida House
George L. Atkins and Sons were the proprietors of the Florida House Hotel in the 1880s. Their
summer hotel was the Ocean Hotel in Asbury Park, New Jersey, open from June 15th to September
15th.

The Florida House was originally built in 1833. It opened in 1834. Mr. J. H. Rehmer of Ansonia,
Connecticut erected the main building in 1875.

In 1883, George Atkins petitioned the town council for permission to build a pedestrian bridge over
Treasury Street, connecting the Florida House with the Planters Hotel, and enlarging the hotel.

In the 1884
Chapins Hand Book of St. Augustine by Elias Nason, the Florida House was advertised
as a winter hotel open from December to April. Chapins reported that improvements
had been made to the hotel, and that its 131 rooms were large, elegantly furnished, well ventilated, and
lighted throughout with gas. A steam passenger elevator carries guests to the New improvements were
made for the year. The rooms were advertised as large, elegantly furnished, well ventilated, and lighted
throughout with gas.  A steam passenger elevator carries fourth floor. The introduction of steam into
the building insures a warm and comfortable house. Electric bells in each room connect with the office.
Terms are $4.00 a day. A liberal reduction given to parties desiring to engage rooms for the season.
Special rates for January. George L. Atkins and Sons ran the hotel.

In the early 1890s Charles F. Beck was the proprietor followed by I. T. Skiles was the proprietor.
The ads are based on the location between the City Gates and the Plaza, sanitary arrangements, best
service, special care in the selection of experienced and first-class cooks and assistants. Terms were
$3.00 to $4.00 a day with reduction for patrons who would take rooms for the season. It also had
special rates for January.

The Hotel was located on 131 St. George street near the Plaza.

The sister hotel to the Florida House was Pierce Villa in Cottage City, Massachusetts. The rates at
Pierce Villa were $3 to $4 per day in 1890.

The Florida in the 1900s was open all year. Rates were $2.00, $2.50 and $3.00 per day with special
weekly and monthly rates.

In 1904 F. C.. Hayden was the proprietor. From 1907 to 1912 the proprietor was John B. O'Connor.
In 1912 the managers were listed as O'Connor & Mahon. The capacity was 250.

The hotel was destroyed by fire in 1914.


Magnolia Hotel
Mr. B. E. Carr, a St. Augustine merchant, built the Magnolia Hotel in 1847. The hotel opened with
seventeen rooms and could accommodate about 40 people.  In 1853 it had 45 rooms. W. W. Palmer
from New York City became the proprietor in 1872. The 200-room hotel was located on St. George
Street and boasted great fireplaces in the reading-room and parlor. A specialty of house was the hand-
painted menus. The hotel was located at 104 St. George Street.

In 1859 a guest could stay at the Magnolia for $1.25 per day. However, the rate for second floor
accommodations was $6.50 per month, and guests staying in the attic paid only $4.00 a month.
By 1886 the Magnolia had 250 rooms that rented for $4.00 a day. In 1892, it advertised filtered
rainwater for drinking, and by 1894, porcelain bathtubs on each floor were advertised. The public and
private rooms have gas.

1867 Arrivals
MAGNOLIA HOUSE B
JOHN C. BUFFINGTON
D. G. Jones, Nashville Ten.
B. K. Guilt  A
J. (?) Bingham
Mrs. E. Shoemaker & Daughter, N. Y.
F. Grossman, U. S. Army
B. R. Amos  A
R. B. Patterson A
H. W. Wensells A
Buckinham [sic] Smith, St. Augustine
Mrs. Ameron, New York
Miss Ameron         
D. Livingston, Canada
K. Kelly        
F. A. Molloy          
C. Bohn, Fla.

Mrs. Palmer arranged card parties and entertainments. They were usually opened by Thanksgiving. In
1892 Mr. J. N. and G. H. Mance were the office with William Bosworth as Stewart and Mr.
Armstrong as chef. In 1899 20 new bathrooms were opened.

The partners had hotels in New Jersey for the summer months. Palmer originally had Hotel Brighton at
Long Branch, New Jersey, with space for 250 guests and rates of  $17.50 to $25 per week. Later,
Palmer and MacDowell owned Hotel Breslin on Lake Hopatcong, N. J. It was forty-three miles from
New York, had electricity and could care for 500 guests.

In 1904 J. N. Mance was the cashier of the hotel. In 1912 Palmer & MacDowell with the hotel
capacity was 300.


St. George Hotel
The St. George Hotel (211 St. George Street) started with the house of Dr. Oliver Bronson. It was
originally a small hotel (see
Boarding houses) provided over by Col. Tyler but in 1887 Charles Tyler,
his son, enlarged it. The hotel was located next to the
Trinity Episcopal Church on St. George Street
and King. By 1888 the property was owned by L. K. Tyler of Newark, New Jersey. It had a parlor,
sitting rooms, broad verandas, reading and reception rooms.

In 1892 George S. Fell was chief clerk; Mr. H. D. Wilde, Night clerk; Mr. F. E. Fenton, Steward;
Mr. E. V. Lucas, chef; Isaiah Spencer, Baker and Ben Briant, Porter.

1912 M. B. Montgomery was the manager. The hotel held 200. In 1916 Mrs. A. R. Spencer was the
manager. The rooms were $2.50 a day.

The hotel was razed in 1941 after being purchased by Trinity Episcopal Church. .


San Marco Hotel
The San Marco Hotel, opened in 1885, was the main competition to Henry Flagler's hotels. Henry
Flagler and his second wife, Ida Alice Shrouds, spent their honeymoon in this hotel. In part, this
beautiful new hotel convinced Flagler that St. Augustine had possibilities. The hotel was unique for St.
Augustine in that it sat on twenty acres of land and created its own environment.

Mr. Isaac Smith Crufts of Boston built the San Marco. Originally a ship builder, Mr. Crufts was an
established hotel owner when he built the San Marco. His first hotel was the Maplewood in the White
Mountains of New York, and in March 1882, he built the Magnolia Hotel on the St. Johns River near
Green Cove Springs. It could be said that Crufts was the "first" person to transform St. Augustine from
a backwater town.

Four stories high, the San Marco was built on the highest ground in St. Augustine, next to the Castillo
de San Marcos.  It had a view of the bay, ocean, and surrounding country. The hotel was four stories
tall and the towers could be seen 15 miles out in the ocean. There were roughly 275 rooms in 1885
and the hotel could hold about 600 guests. The cost was $2.50 to $6 per day. Corridors extended the
entire length of the hotel, with guest rooms on both sides. Guests could use the large elevator, or the
stairs to access the upper floors.

The office, parlors, reading and writing-rooms occupied most of the first floor. The dining-hall was
west of the main hotel and was a large, lofty room with windows on three sides. A theatre was
attached to hotel where dances and entertainments were held. The hotel also offered a newsstand,
barbershop, billiard room, private docks, and a café in addition to tennis and croquet courts.

For a guest at this hotel the week would start with a sacred concert on Sunday evening and end with a
card party  on Saturday night. One unique opportunity in the hotel was that the guests were able to
pick their own vegetables from the hotel garden for their meals.  

As the competitor to Flagler's hotels, the San Marco advertisements used  "built on natural ground",
high and dry," and  "large and airy" to capitalize on the Flagler Hotels being built on a former tidal area.

Isaac Crufts dies December 27, 1889 . The Hotel does not open for the 1890 season but reopens for
the 1891 season.  The San Marco Hotel burned to the ground on November 7, 1897 and was not
rebuilt.

Henry Flagler not only got the vision of St. Augustine's potential from the San Marco Hotel, but also
took
McGuire and MacDonald, the builders, and Osborn Seavey, Crufts hotel manager, away from
the Hotel.


The Hotel Buckingham
The Hotel was built from the remodeled building that Dr Oliver Bronson commissioned for the
Buckingham Smith Association. Later it was used as an Industrial school for African-Americans.

It opened in 1895 for the first time. It was located on 16 Granada Street the renamed Bronson Street
across the street from the Alcazar Hotel. It was listed as a family hotel. Meals were served from bills
of fare. It's advertisement listed electric bells, baths, and open fireplaces. The rates were $2.50 per
Day and up with special weekly and monthly rates. The opening manager was George C. Howe. By
1899 Howe had expanded to Daytona with the Holly Inn  and  the Hybiscus at Palm Beach. He had
also acquired the Clarendon at Green Cove Springs.

In the early 1900s G. L. Bryant was the proprietor. It was open from January 1 to April 15th
accommodating 75. The rates were $2.50 to $4.00 per day or $17.00 to $25.00 per week. It was
located in a large garden of roses and date palms facing the Alameda opposite Hotel Alcazar.

In 1903 the proprietor was Everett I. Mathewson who had a summer hotel of Mathewson House in
Narragansett Pier, R. I.  A frequent guest was writer James Branch Cabell. In 1916 Wachenhousen &
Maust were managing. The hotel still accommodated 75.

The hotel closed in 1964.


The Casa Monica
Flagler had some unexpected competition from his associate, Franklin Smith. In arranging the land
acquisition, Flagler gave Smith land and the Sunnyside Hotel, which was moved across the street to
the site of the Casa Monica Hotel. Flagler encouraged Smith to fix up the Sunnyside, but Smith had
much bigger plans  he moved the Sunnyside Hotel and built a 250-room hotel on its site.

The beautiful new building was concrete, with less coquina than the Ponce de Leon or the
Alcazar.
Deep river sand was used, which made the color of the building more dense and uniform than the
Ponce de Leon or Alcazar. Advertising for the new hotel focused on its Spanish-Moorish structure,
Artesian sulfur baths, French cuisine, and Table d'hote.   All of the suites in the Casa Monica were
equipped with closets, gaslights, gas heat, and electric bells to call for service. Baths were located on
each floor. With its cottages, the hotel could accommodate four hundred guests.

Smith had trouble completing the hotel; a plumbers' strike in January of 1888 sent all the plumbers
back to New York (The Florida error! Bookmark not defined. Times Union, January 7, 1888), and a
fire at the Nelson, Matter & Co. factory in Michigan delayed a shipment of furniture. The building
opened on January 17, 1888, a week after the Ponce de Leon. The opening was not a success. Smith
was plagued by low occupancy and was unable to compete with the Ponce de Leon.  

The hotel officially opened on January 30, and by March 28 Smith was cutting back expenses  by
closing off two floors and laying off two or three dozen people. The hotel was sold in April to Henry
Flagler for $250,000 On July 16 the name of the hotel was changed to the Hotel Cordova. In the
coming years Flagler will keep the manager of the Hotel - E.N. Wilson. However, in the summer of
1889 with the assistance of
O. D. Seavey the interior of the hotel is renovated especially the kitchen
area.

Even though the Casa Monica would be sold to Flagler to become the Cordova it would still have
interesting guests like Frank Woolworth, Mrs. Tom thumb and Archibald Clavering Gunter.


Valencia
The Valencia was a smaller family hotel with bell service. The house was located on south St. George
Street near the St. Francis' barracks with a view of the ocean. It was run in the 1890 through the early
1900s by Mrs. Mary Fraser who had been managing hotels in St. Augustine since the early 1880s. It
had electric bells and gas and a great menu. The water was aerated artesian well water. The hotel was
built by
McGuire and McDonald. The room rate was $2.50 to 3.00 per day or $15.00 to $20.00 per
week. It had private baths, steam heat and modern conveniences. It stated that special attention was
paid to table. The hotel was located at 276 St. George Street on what is today the parking lot of the
St. Francis Inn (which as one time was known as the Valencia annex.) Two of the more famous guests
were Sinclair Lewis and William Dean Howells in 1916. In 1912 Miss E. Fraser was the manager.
The hotel held 75 and still charged $2.50 to $3.00 per day.

The name of this hotel was later changed to the Alencia Hotel.


The Barcelona
In 1874 Henry Ball constructed a residence that was located on 20 Valencia and Sevilla Streets. In
1885 Henry Flagler purchased and moved the house.

The Barcelona was located near the
Union Depot, Memorial Presbyterian  (two blocks from the
station) and
Grace Methodist Episcopal, North Churches on the corner of Carrera and Seville Streets.
It was the Ball mansion moved,  enlarged and remodeled. Miss R. E. Hasseltine was the manager in
the 1890s. It had baths, gas, hot and cold water on each floor. In 1904  Miss A. N. Blair was the
proprietor.

In 1904 R. E. Hasseltine was still in charge. The hotel accommodated 70 with rates from $2.00 to
$2.50 per day or $10.00 to $18.00 per week. It was open from November to May. Located two
blocks from the station it had all modern improvements with a good family table.

In 1909 A. N. Blair was the proprietor. The rates were from $2.50 to $4.00 per day. It advertised a
good family table and home comforts and was open November to May. In 1916 Miss A. N. Blair
was the manager. The capacity was 70.

The hotel was razed in 1962. It's now the site of the Ancient City Baptist Church Parking lot.


The Carleton
This hotel was located on St. George Street and Treasury not far from the Plaza. Mr. Rolleston was
the owner and manager. This family hotel was located on the corner of St. George and Treasury
Streets, It advertised itself as the best location, best table and best hotel. The rate was $2.00 per day
with special rates to permanent guests.


The La Borde
The La Borde was located near the bay on 38 Marine Street bordering on Bridge.In 1885 this was
considered a private boarding house when Miss S. P. C. La Borde was the proprietor.  

Large rooms with water views. Mr. and Mrs. Abbott were the owners in the 1890s. In 1904 S. W.
Cole was the proprietor.

In 1895 the
Tatler reported: The La Borde has a charming location near the bay with an open space
intervening. The rooms are large, with delightful water views, and prettily furnished. An excellent table
is maintained. The entire house, with its different departments, homelike and comfortable. Mr. and
Mrs. Abbott , the proprietors, are indefatigable in securing the comfort of their guests. Excellent
sanitary arrangements.

In 1909 Mrs. Jack Cowan was the proprietor. It accommodated forty people. The rates were $1.50
and $2.00 per day.

In 1910 it was sold to Margaret Morgan and renamed
The Kenwood. By 1912 it was the LaBorde
again with Mrs. E. Cowan as manager


La Posada Hotel
La Posada Hotel was located on 52 Carrera Street. In the early 1900s Mrs. H. A. Rumley was
proprietor. It was open all year with rates from $1.50 to $2.00 per day or $5.00 to $9.00 per week.
It was a family hotel two blocks from Ponce de Leon and convenient to all points of interest. In 1904
the proprietor was T. L. Clark.(This hotel is still existent today as a much renovated private residence.)

In 1909 Mrs. R. C. Gould was the proprietor and still kept it open year round. The rates were $1.00
to $1.50 per day with special rates to families or parties. It was billed as a pleasant family hotel in a
most desirable part of the city two blocks from the station and convenient to all points of interest. It
was surrounded by broad verandas and spacious lawns, making it a most comfortable and home-like
place.

In 1912 Mrs. John Center was the manager. The hotel held 50 persons.


Abbey Hotel
The house was located on 21 St. George street and Fort Marion Lane near the city gates and Fort
Marion. It was run by W. B. Pine and W. A. Wood. Originally it was owned by Mrs. A. B. Abbe
from Martha's Vineyard, Mass. The northern hotel that matched the Abbey was the Pierce Villa in
Cottage City Mass. The rates were $2.00 and $2.50 per day or $10.00 to $14.00 per week

In 1892 the
Tatler stated: "This comfortable family hotel is pleasantly located on St. George Street
near the city gates and with many of its rooms overlooking the bay. Its exterior is attractive and once
one enters its home like comfortable appearance soon decided one to remain. The manager, Mrs. A.
B. Abbe, who manages Pierce Villa, at Martha's vineyard, has a host of patrons who escape the
winter's cold and summer's heat, by becoming her guests at either one of her hotels."

In 1895 the
Tatler reported: "This comfortable family hotel has been leased by Mr. W. B. Pine, who,
with W. A. Wood, have made an enviable reputation at the Goodwood, Archer, Fla. The house has
been put in perfect order and new furniture added. Mr. Pine has determined to maintain a first-class
table with good service. The house is located on St. George street, a short distance from the city gates
and grounds of Fort Marion, one of the best locations in the city. A broad plaza across the front of the
house affords a delightful lounging place."

In the early 1900s it would be run as a select family hotel under the management of Summerfield Hotel
in Ocean Grove, N. J. with F. S. Haynes as the proprietor. In 1904 Mrs. N. F. Garcia was the
proprietor.

In 1909 Mrs. J. C. Cook was the proprietor. The rates were $1.50 and $2.00 per day.

It later became the
Northern Hotel. It became the Arlington by (1910). In 1916 the hotel was run
by Mrs. Emma McKeen. The hotel held 60. The rates were now $2.50 and up per day. The hotel
burned in the 1920s.


Columbia Hotel (House)
The Columbia hotel was $2.00 per day or $10.00 per week. It advertised gas, sanitary sewerage and
electric bells. Located at 60 St. George Street, it was owned by A. S. Washburne. Washburne was
from the Saratoga and the Saratoga at Palatka. It had fifty rooms. The northern hotel was the
Washburne Hotel in Saratoga Springs, N. Y.

The Tatler reported in 1891: "Mr. A. S. Washburne, who has made such a success of "The
Washburne," at Saratoga, and "The Saratoga," at Palatka, has taken this pleasantly located house for a
period of three years, and has made it first-class in every respect, putting gas all through the house with
electric bells in all the sleeping rooms. These have been newly papered and painted throughout, and
with the new furniture, is as attractive as possible. The office has been refurnished, the parlor enlarged
and refitted, making it a delightful room.

The house has baths and the best possible sanitary arrangements. Nor has the dining room and kitchen
been neglected. Everything possible to insure cleanliness and good cooking has been secured in the
kitchen, and the dinning room is well supplied with dainty linen, pretty china and new silver. Mr.
Washburne brings his Saratoga staff with him and gives promise of making this as good a $2-a-day
house as there is in the country, and will no doubt have his fifty rooms filled all through the season.

Ocean View
On 132 Bay Street it had gas in the office, parlors, dining room and halls. In charge of the house was
Mr.W.S.M. (William Slade Macy) Pinkham (who would later be the St. Johns County School Board
Superintendent.) The dinning-room sat 100. This was the only hotel directly on the bay in the 1890s
by 1910 it was next door to the Hotel Marion. In 1898 the manager was Frank C. Hayden. In the
1900s the Ocean View came under new management. A. Madole and Company took over matching
it with the Lebanon Cottage in Chautauqua, N. Y. The Ocean View featured in its advertising fine
fishing and northern cooking.

In 1909 it was listed as accommodating seventy-five people. Rates were $1.50 up per day with
special rates by the week and to parties. It was listed as delightfully located, fronting bay and ocean. It
was located 60 feet from the sea wall. The hotel was surrounded by broad and sunny verandas with
only a few minute's walk from all points of interest. It had sanitary plumbing, free hot and cold baths
with Northern help and cooking.

In 1911, the hotel was sold to Henry E. Hernandez. In 1912 H. E. Hernandez was still the proprietor.

In the 1960s it was torn down and replaced by the Marion Hotel. The site is now the location of the
Bayfront Inn.

(See
Hernandez)

Monson House
The second Monson House was located on 26 Bay Street next to Bravo Lane.  (The first one burned
in the 1895 fire.) A. V. Monson, Proprietor. Open all year the rates were $1.50 to $2.00 per day with
$7.00 to 12.00 per week. Forty feet from the seawall. Two minute walk to the fort. Guests have free
use of row boats with fishing grounds in a distance of fifty yards to two miles. It had hot and cold baths.

It was enlarged in 1901.

In 1909 with A. V. Monson as the proprietor the hotel was open year round. The rates were $1.50 to
$2.50 per day with special rates by the week. It was located overlooking the bay and ocean and forty
feet from the sea wall. It was two minutes from old Spanish fort and Ponce de Leon Hotel. Guests had
free use of rowboats. Fishing grounds within a distance of fifty yards to two miles. Hot and cold baths
were free with perfect sanitary arrangements. It featured northern cooking and street cars passed the
door. In 1912 A. V. Monson was still the proprietor with the capacity of 75.

It was then destroyed in the April 2, 1914 fire and replaced by a masonry structure in 1915. In 1960 it
was destroyed and replaced by the Monson Motor Lodge.


Hotel Chautauqua
In the beginning this hotel located at 11 King Street was called the Algonquin Hotel. In 1899 it was
operated by C. F. Cox.

This hotel was located opposite the
public market and plaza overlooking the bay and ocean. It
featured "Northern" cooking with rates from $2.00 and up. Mrs. M. Crittenden was the proprietor.


Lynns Hotel
Lynns Hotel was located on 7 King Street. In 1904 the owner was Truman J. Lynn.


Lynn's Arcade Hotel
It was open year round and accommodated 75 guests. Its food was on either the American or
European plan. The European plan was .50 to $1.00 per day. A café was located on the lower floor.
The hotel was located on St. George Street opposite the Florida House.


Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel was located at 17 King Street.


Hotel Aragon
In 1910 extensive improvements were made on the exterior of the Hotel Aragon on St. George street,
New Porches are being added and many alterations which will greatly improve the hotel and make it
better fitted than ever for the business.


Granada Hotel
(1899) Is located directly opposite the main entrance to the Ponce de Leon and overlooking the
handsome grounds of the Alcazar. It is artistically furnished, has a handsome foyer and parlor on the
main floor. Many of the guests' chambers are arranged in suites, including a parlor bedroom and bath,
are light and with entrancing views. The proprietor, Mr. Harry w. Wachenhusen, is well known to
travelers and tourists. This is his second year at the Granada and many of last year's guests are again
enjoying his hospitality this season, while others have secured rooms for the near future.

In 1904 H. W. Wachenhusen was the manager of the Granada Hotel. It was open from December to
May 15th and accommodated 150 guests. Rates were $2.50 and upwards per day. Special weekly
and monthly rates were available. It was located at the corner of King and Granada Streets facing the
"Alameda." Rooms were light, airy, and cheerful daintily furnished in white and gold arranged single or
en suite with or without private bath.

The Arcade, the lower front section included shops. In 1912 the manager was S. Thomas Penna. In
1913, new owner Abraham S. Mussalem renamed the building the
Alhambra Hotel. IA fire
destroyed the 73-room hotel in 1954.


Spear Mansion
The Spear Mansion was built by Capt. Thomas F. House who also built the Sunnyside Hotel.

Mrs. A. R. Spencer was the proprietor and in the early 1900s J. O. Lumsden was the manager. The
mansion was open all year with rates from $2.00 to $3.00 per day or $10.00 and up per week. It was
one block from the Ponce de Leon and post office opposite the Casino - a ten minute walk to the golf
links. Home cooking was a specialty. It was directly across the street from St. Joseph Academy and
Convent at 240 St. George.

1909 - Mrs. A. R. Spencer was the proprietor. The hotel was open year round with rates from $2.00
and up per day with special rates by the week and to parties. The hotel was centrally located on St.
George street one block from the Ponce de Leon. It had large grounds, beautiful with shrubbery and
flowers. Rooms en suite, with or without private bath; wide verandas, electric bells, sanitary plumbing.
Home cooking was a specialty. Filtered water for drinking. Sulphur well in yard. 1912 Mrs. A. R.
Spencer was still the proprietor. The hotel held 75 people charging $250 to $3.00 per day with
$15.00 to $20.00 per week.

In 1938 the Sisters of St. Joseph purchased the property and demolished the mansion.


Columbia Hotel
The Columbia Hotel was located at the corner of Cuna and St. George. In the 1890s the Columbia
Hotel had rates of $2.00 per day. The owner was A. S. Washburne. Washburne also ran the
Washburne Hotel in Saratoga Springs New York.

The 1891
Tatler reported: "Mr. A. S. Washburne, who has made such a success of "The
Washington" at Saratoga, and "The Saratoga," at Palatka has taken this pleasantly located house for a
period of three years and has made it first-class in every respect, putting gas all through the house with
electric bells in all the sleeping rooms. These have been newly papered and painted throughout, and
with the new furniture, is as attractive as possible. The office has been refurnished, the parlor enlarged
and refitted, making it a delightful room.

The house has baths and the best possible sanitary arrangements. Nor has the dining room and kitchen
been neglected. Everything possible to insure cleanliness and good cooking has been secured in the
kitchen, and the dining room is well supplied with dainty linen, pretty china and new silver. Mr.
Washburne brings his Saratoga staff with him and gives promise of making this as good a $2-a-day
house as there is in the country, and will no doubt have his fifty rooms filled all through the season.


Keystone Hotel
Keystone Hotel - This hotel was started in either 1905-06 in the former home of C. G. Gleason, the
Superintendent of the Canal Company. One block west from front entrance of Hotel Ponce de Leon.
It has large airy rooms and excellent cuisine. Mrs. L. J. Boyes is the owner. She had formerly worked
in millinery.

The hotel was located at 112 King street. In 1909 Mrs. L. J. Boyes was still the proprietor. It was
one block from the front entrance to the Hotels Ponce de Leon and the Alcazar and convenient to the
post office and railway. In 1909 it still featured large, airy, well-furnished rooms, all outside. Hot and
cold baths and heat in bedrooms free of extra charge. Soft water was supplied in bedrooms. Perfect
sanitation. No consumptives taken. Northern home cooking a specialty with fresh vegetables from
own farm. Jellies, preserves, etc., home made. Rates, $2.00 per day. Special rates by the week or
month.

In 1912 L. J. Boyes was the manager. The hotel held 60 people.


Hotel Marion
The Hotel Marion was a new hotel in 1905-06. It was located on the Bay front at Bravo and Marine.
Henry Muller was the proprietor. There was an earlier version of the Marion Hotel on Charlotte street
next to the St. Augustine Hotel in 1884.

In 1909 H. Muller was still the proprietor. The hotel was open year round and accommodated sixty
people. It featured both European and American plans. The rates were $2.50 and up per day; special
by the week. It was situated fronting the bay and ocean. All modern improvements with Cuisine
Francoise. It had steam heat and electric lights throughout. In 1912 it was listed simply as The Marion
with H. Muller still the proprietor. By 1912 it could accommodate 75 people.


Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial was located near the City Gates


Lyon Building
The Lynn Building was built at the same time as the Casa Monica Hotel and completes the block.
Very low rent at $3.00 per week O. B. Smith was the manager.

In 1909 with O. B. Smith as the manager, the building held 150. It was open from November to May
with furnished rooms only. Prices ranged from $3.00 to $20.00 per week. It was a central location
opposite the post office. The building was listed as strictly fireproof and sanitary arrangements perfect.
The rooms were large and first class. There were gas heaters and "hot plates" when desired with
restaurants and stores close at hand. In 1912 O. B. Smith was still the manager.


Bennett House
The Bennett House was located at 10 Bay Street. S. F. Bennett was the manager. In 1909 it was
listed as a new house. The rates were $1.50 to $2.00 per day. It accommodated sixty. The hotel was
demolished in 1961 by the National Park Service in its reroute of Fort Marion Circle.


Central Hotel
It was located at 84 Charlotte Street (near Treasury.) This hotel was owned by Henry E. Hernandez
until 1910. It accommodated forty people and featured hot and cold baths. The rates in 1909 were
$1.50 to $2.00 per day and $8.00 to $12.00 per week. In 1912 C. W. Johnson was the manager
with a capacity of 50 people  It was burned in the 1914 fire.


Abbott Mansion
1885 Opposite San Marco Hotel Mrs. Leo R. Vogel, Proprietor


Rolleston House
1885 St. George Street


Hotel Clairmont - Next to the Opera House on St. George Street (1910). In 1904 this was the
Aroyle Hotel. 1912 manager was Mrs. A. Boutelle. The hotel held 75. Rates per day $2.00, per
week special.


Palmetto Hotel - Corner of Tolomato and Spanish  (1899) (1904) (1910) (1912) held 50. The daily
rates were $1.50 to $2.00 per week, $7.00 to $10.00


San Marco - 1912 version held 100 people rates per day, 41.00, rooms only.


                             Competition Lost
Two sources of competition were lost before the doors of the Ponce de Leon and the Alcazar opened.

Hotel St. Augustine was built in 1869 by a partnership of Captain E. E. Vaill, F. H. Palmer, and Dr.
Andrew Anderson. T. P House was the architect and builder. The hotel had gaslights, was 200 feet
long, three stories high, and contained 80 rooms (140 rooms were added in 1875).

In 1884 in Chapin's Hand Book of St. Augustine by Elias Nason included the following description of
the hotel: southerly front of 200 feet upon the Plaza and 160 feet on the Bay with wide plazas and
hanging balconies from each story overlooking the City, Bay, and Atlantic Ocean. The Dining-Room,
Parlors, Billiard-Room, and many of the Sleeping Rooms are elegantly frescoed. It is lighted with gas
and provided with water conveniences, electric bells. The dining hall is capable of seating over 300
guests, and the table will be furnished with all the luxuries of the Northern Market€� By 1885 the St.
Augustine Hotel had 300 rooms that rented for $4 per day.

Captain Vaill (a sea captain from Milton, Conn.) was the sole owner of the Hotel St. Augustine in
1887 when the fire that also destroyed the Cathedral destroyed it. Unfortunately, Captain Vaill had
canceled the insurance on the hotel because he thought the rates were too high.


Sunnyside Hotel  - Thomas F. House built the Sunnyside Hotel in 1876 on property that had been
part of
Dr. Anderson's estate. Originally on the site of the Ponce de Leon, Flagler moved the hotel
across the street (to the present site of the Casa Monica) and gave it to Franklin Smith, encouraging
him to run the Sunnyside rather than build the Casa Monica. The hotel had a capacity of 40 guests and
rented for $2.50 per day. It was renamed "Villula" by 1884 (Sanborn map) and "Villa del Sol"  by
Franklin Smith when it was annexed on December 15, 1886
. It's location was directly on the site of
the future Casa Monica. It had a bath house which had an artesian well with enough force to pump
water to the third floor of the hotel.

                           Old Hotels long gone
City Hotel was located on Charlotte and Bay Street, a few doors South East of the
Public Square.
The hotel was open prior to 1834 (by then it was described as a well known and long
established hotel. In 1834 William Levingston took charge of the hotel and refurbished it. He
announced that good stables and carriage houses are attached to the premises. The Atheneum was
kept at the hotel. (The Atheneum was a reading room located on the second floor and opened to the
bay. It also had a circulating library next to the reading room. F. L. Dancy served as secretary of the
executive committee.)
The City Hotel in 1848 was under Mr. Bridier was one of the oldest hotels in St.
Augustine. In 1854 it was the office of the Picolata Mail Stage.

Levingston's Hotel - active in 1834

             Other Hotel Competition
City Gates Hotel - Corner of Tolomato and St. George Street (1910)

Cozy Inn - St. George near Hypolita (1910)

Bennett - Bay and Cuna (1910)

Atlantic Hotel - Bay Street beside the Monson (1910)

Connecticut Hotel - Cedar Street (1904)
Magnolia Hotel
New York Public Library
St. Augustine Hotel
New York Public Library
Sunnyside Hotel
New York Public Library
Casa Monica
Library of Congress
Florida House
Hotel St. George
The San Marco Hotel
Ocean View
The Barcelona
The Monson House
La Posada
52 Carrera St.
Spear Mansion
Custom Search
1914-1915 Ads
Like us on Facebook