1st Methodist Episcopal Church (South) - Moultrie On May 3, 1879 the First Methodist Episcopal Church, South was formed in Moultrie 1 mile west of U. S. Highway 1. It would be closed in 1930. The church was originally part of a circuit. The church is a 40 x 60 rectangular wooden structure painted white. It has a tower but no bell. The first pastor was Rev. Hughes in 1879. Today the church is known as Moultrie Church and next to it is the Wildwood or Moultrie Cemetery that dates back to the founding of the church.
Sunday School of Memorial Presbyterian (St. Augustine Evening Record, May 7, 1900) The Sunday school of the Memorial Presbyterian church will picnic at Mr. Kolb's place, at Moultrie, tomorrow. Boats leave Corbett's dock at 9 a.m. and 2 p.m. All scholars go free; all others will be charged 25 cents the round trip. Come with us. C. M. Bevan, J. P. Dodge Transportation Committee
Held Up on the Highway -- Mr. H. W. Simms Robbed by a Highway man - Robber Was Disguised. (St. Augustine Evening Record, July 29, 1900 ) Mr. H. W. Simms, of Moultrie was the victim of a daring highway robbery Saturday evening. Mr. Simms came to town Saturday morning with a wagon load of produce, which he disposed of during the day. He started homeward late in the afternoon. Nothing unusual transpired until he reached a place near Terry's packing house at Moultrie. Unsuspecting of the surprise in store for him, Mr. Simms was driving along at a leisurely gait, when from the bushes suddenly appeared a masked man, whose hands were gloved. He covered Mr. Simms with a 38-calibre revolver, and ordered him to halt. The order was obeyed, and the masked robber approached until he was close enough to touch his victim, (which he subsequently did for all he had) thrusting the revolver in Mr. Simms' face with the most foul oaths, he compelled Mr. Simms to empty his pockets. After satisfying himself that he had secured all the money in Mr. Simms' possession, the scoundrel retreated to the bushes and escaped.
Mr. Simms continued his homeward trip, but was unmolested further. He related his experience to several men at Anderson's store. However, with the start the highwayman had secured they decided that it was useless to attempt to capture him. Mr. Simms was unable, to determine the color of the robber owing to the mask and gloves, but judging from the voice he believes he is white, describing him further as tall and of powerful build.
The loss to Mr. Simms is insignificant, but the crime is nevertheless one of the utmost gravity, and a criminal of this class a menace to the public.
Sandy Hill Baptist Church Sandy Hill Baptist Church was organized as part of the National Baptist Convention of the United States of America in 1904. This African American church worshiped at St. Paul's s African Methodist Episcopal from 1904-1912 with services on the 2nd and 4th Sundays of the month. They moved into their church in 1912. The church was a rectangular building with a tower. M. B. Brinton was the Pastor from 1904-1906. In 1936 K. A. Anders was the pastor.
Colored Industrial Institute (St. Augustine Evening Record, March 11, 1904) the colored Industrial Institute at Moultrie is celebrating its first anniversary today, and a number of visitors have gone to the exercises.
Saint Paul's African Methodist Episcopal Church St. Pauls was organized in 1904. The Services were held in the old school building until the church was erected in 1919. The first settled pastor was Elder Harry Williams, 1904-1906. In 1937 the pastor was Elder O. W. Wakeman. He graduated from Attwater College of African Methodist Episcopal Church Jacksonville, Florida.
Picnic at Moultrie (St. Augustine Evening Record, June 24, 1907) Moultrie will be the scene of a picnic on Wednesday and this city will be largely represented at the same. The picnic is given by the Catholics of Moultrie for the purpose of raising funds for the new church there. Dinner and supper will be served on the ground at a nominal price and various amusements will be provided. No official means of conveyance has been designated and patrons may go by boat or road conveyance.
Farmers' Union of Moultrie Will Hold Celebration Thursday (St. Augustine Evening Record, September 22, 1917) The local branch of the Farmers' Union at Moultrie is making arrangements for a special celebration to be held next Thursday, September 27th, to mark the actual commencement of work on the erection of a farmers' telephone line connecting the Moultrie farmers with the central office at St. Augustine and therefore with the outside world there is to be an all-day program which will begin about 11 o'clock and continue throughout the afternoon and evening. Land and water sports of all kinds are being planned and in the evening there will be dancing. One of the main features of the day will be an old-fashioned barbecue at which additional dishes will include oysters, clam chowder and shrimp pilau. A cordial invitation is being extended by the Moultrie folks to the people of St. Johns county to visit Moultrie on that day and partake of Moultrie hospitality.
Moultrie Section Proving to be Vineyard of St. Johns County Approximately five miles south of St. Augustine, the county seat of St. Johns county, lies the Moultrie section, situated between the Moultrie Creek, from which it derives its name, and Pellicer Creek.
This section of St. Johns County is rapidly becoming one of its leading communities. Lying in high sandy ridges, the Moultrie country has been found to be the best persimmon belt in Florida, and as a result the cultivated persimmon is becoming a commercial crop of value. While a number of varieties of persimmons are being grown successfully, at present, the Japanese variety is probably the most extensively raised.
Moultrie is also fast becoming the vineyard of St. Johns County -- for here grapes are being grown with success. In addition to the different species of the scuppernong, "bunch" or "trellis" grapes flourish with ordinary attention. Many arbors of the Niagara and Delaware varieties have been realized. In addition to the persimmons and grapes, many fig trees are to be found throughout the rich section of the county, with the Smyrna variety seemingly being the best adapted to the soil.
School House at Moultrie Is Deferred (St. Augustine Evening Record, Sept. 4 1927) Erection of Structure Delayed for Present At the meeting of the St. Johns county board of public instruction, held Friday, it was definitely decided that the new building for the pupils at Moultrie would not receive attention at this time, this being due to the fact that the property offered by Dr. F. H. Genung could not be delivered with sufficient title to warrant the placing of a building in time for the 1927-28 school term opening. It is probable that two months or more will be required for this matter to be cleared up. Therefore it was decided by the board to bring in the children from the Moultrie section to the city schools, until such time as further arrangements can be made. It was the sense of the meeting that the other offering of a school site made by J. A. Barnes could not be given consideration. Mr. Barnes offered a suitable site some months ago, and it was understood that the new building would be placed there. However the offering of the Genung tract changed the attitude of the school board members with regard to location. The subsequent delay means holding up the building project and the decision to bring the Moultrie children into town this coming year.
Moultrie in 1939 (Florida) (500 pop.), on the bank of a tidal inlet bordered with salt marshes, was named for John Moultrie, lieutenant governor of Florida during the English occupation (1763-83), who lived near by in a large stone mansion on his plantation, Belle Vista. When England returned Florida to Spain in 1784, Moultrie moved to the Bahamas with many other British settlers.
Right from Moultrie on a sand road through dense pine woods to a marker (l), 0.8 m., commemorating the capture of Osceola, great leader of the Seminole (see Tour 21). On October 20, 1837, Osceola and a party of 71 warriors, 1 women, and 4 Indian-Negroes, set out for Fort Peyton to confer with General Joseph M. Hernandez regarding the release of King Philip, imprisoned Seminole chief. Osceola had sent by Wild Cat, son of King Philip, a white plume and pipe, the Indian equivalent of a flag of truce, but the American commander, Thomas S. Jesup, instructed Hernandez to seize the Indians and bring them to St. Augustine. When Osceola realized that he had been tricked, he turned to a companion and said, 'You must talk; I am choked.' Public opinion denounced the flagrant breach of faith, and the New York Herald described it as the 'perfidious capture of Osceola, when the chieftain was engaged in an honest parley -- which it is believed would have terminated the War.'
At 1.5 m is the Site of Fort Peyton. Nothing remains of the old wooden fort and the blockhouse erected in 1836. William Tecumseh Sherman, who won distinction in the War between the States, was stationed here as a lieutenant during the last days of the Seminole War.
Communities of St. Johns County
St. Johns County 1889 (Flagler County area still part of St. Johns)