|Port Orange, Volusia County
Places to Stay 1909
Port Orange House -- S. Fred. Cummings, owner and manager. Gas light, stove and fireplace heat, modern plumbing;
two story verandas all around hotel, broad sunning porch on the south end. Northern cooking, special attention being
given to the table and the serving of fish and oysters. Vegetables from our own garden at the west of the hotel. Row
boats, a sail boat and a competent sailor are furnished free to boats, a sail boat and a competent sailor are furnished
free to the guests. Guides for fishing and shooting furnished on short notice. Launches for hire at reasonable rates.
Other sports -- riding, driving, autoing, bicycling; fine walks, croquet, tennis, and bathing in the ocean one mile from the
hotel, either by sail boat or a walk across the new bridge. Bath-houses right on the ocean. We are headquarters for
parties wishing to take house-boats down the river. Rates, $2.50 per day; by the week, one person in a room, from
$10.50 to $14.00; by the week, two persons in one room, with one double bed, $20.00 to $30.00. The hotel
accommodates about sixty. Correspondence solicited.
Hardyman's -- Mrs. F. A. Hardyman. Accommodates fifteen. Rates, $1.00 to $1.50 per day; $5.00 to $6.00 per week.
Numerous Cottages furnished for light housekeeping; rent at from $50.00 to 4100.00 for the season. Wm. C. Howes,
real estate agent.
Places to Stay 1912
Port Orange House, S. Fred Cummings; capacity, 45; rates - per day, $2.50 per week, special.
The Illinois, D. W. Winn; capacity, 18; rates - per day, $1.50 per week, special.
Port Orange, (12 alt., 678 pop.), a shrimp and oyster center on the west bank of the broad Halifax River, was
established in 1861. During the Seminole War the Battle of Dunlawton was fought along the riverfront at Port Orange.
Under General Putnam the defenders, refugees of neighboring plantations, were forced to withdraw from the vicinity,
while the Indians under King Philip destroyed a sugar mill and near-by settlements.
Although the citrus culture to which the town owes its name is still of consequence to the community, it has been
superseded by the cultivation of oyster beds in the Halifax River, and by shrimp fishing.
In Port Orange are the ruins of the Dunlawton Sugar Mill (adm. 25 cents), reputedly built during the early eighteenth
century, later destroyed, rebuilt, and improved many times. Known to have been used as late as 1880, it is one of the
largest coquina ruins in the vicinity. Two tall chimneys over top the trees, and the walls are overrun with vines. Most of
the machinery remains on its foundations, coated with rust. During the War between the States, Edward Archibald
McDonald, founder of the settlement, transported salt water from the Halifax River and used the huge kettles of the mill
to make salt for the Confederate forces.
|Florida East Coast Railway
|Dunlawton Sugar Plantation Mill
State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory, http://floridamemory.com/items/show/39817