Public Market
Plaza
St. Augustine

Library of Congress
HABS No. FLA-131
Editor's Note:
Long is the argument on the nature of this building. Was it a slave market? Absolutely not. New Orleans, Charleston,
Alexandria, Virginia had their slave pens as identifiable buildings where only slaves were sold. St. Augustine did not.
Most important St. Augustine did not sell enough slaves. What slaves were sold were sold throughout the city. In stores,
on boats, at the courthouse and yes in the public market. In 1850 it was simply mentioned as the market building. In
1883 on the Bloomfield Map it's labeled the Old Slave Market and labeled the Meat Market in front of Public School #1
on Hospital. In 1884 the Sanborn Insurance map called it - The  Market House by 1888 it became the Old Slave Market
on the Sanborn maps. What caused the change? Tourism? The Flagler Hotels? Good question. It's already known that
St. Augustine was in a slave state.

However, I do not believe that this should be called the slave market. Thoughout its history it was a food market primarly
a meat market. Day in and day out that's what was sold in this building. Selling of slaves here as elsewhere in the city
was incidental. Manipulation of history for anyone serves no one.

Slave Sells
David Nolan lists the following:
In 1834 there was an advertisement for an estate sale "at the market House in the City of St. Augustine" of "A very prime
gang of 30 Negroes, accustomed to the culture of Sugar and Cotton."

In 1836, "two slaves with their increase if any are to be sold at Public Auction to the highest bidder at the Market House."

In 1838, "negro woman Sally" was to be auctioned to settle the Mary Hanford estate "at the Market House."

However that does not make this a "slave" market. It was the public market where meat and vegetables were sold.

Story of Mary Ann Murray
St Augustine Record 10/21/1934
Former Slave Tells Her Story; One of Oldest Negro Residents
Sold in the slave market here over eighty years ago for one dollar - that is the story of Mary Ann Murray, better known
as Mary Gomez, one of St. Augustine's oldest colored residents.

Mary, who lives on North Oneida Street, was born a slave about eighty-five years ago (she isn't sure of her exact age),
belonging to the DeMedicis family here. When she was one year old, she and her mother were sold in the slave market
to Phillip Gomez, Mary bringing a price of only one dollar because she was so sickly and small that everyone was sure
she would die within a year. Her mother brought a good price, Mary said.

The Gomez homestead, according to Mary, occupied what is now the site of the court house, and here she was brought
up as a family servant, always kindly treated. She can remember when a child playing about the old dirt streets of the
city, and in Treasury Street, which was in front of her home. Ships used to drop anchor in Matanzas Bay, or just outside
the harbor, and send in their crews to get water from the spring in the slave market. Mary tells of the time her master,
Mr. Gomez, and other slave-holders in the city, sent their men to Anastasia Island to quarry coquina for sea-wall and
jetty work.

At this time, all of the western part of the city was a marsh, part of the San Sebastian River, and Mary remembers when
her mother would go to the west end of the garden of the old Spanish government House, now the Post Office, facing
what is now Hotel Ponce de Leon, and sit on the bank of the creek to fish. Mary said that they used to catch trout more
than a foot long there.

When Mary Gomez was a young girl, word of the emancipation proclamation reached here, and, she said, all the
slaveholders were ordered to release their slaves and allow them to gather in a large vacant lot west of St. Joseph's
Academy, where they were officially freed. When her bonds were struck off. Mary took the name of her parents instead
of that of her master, as many did, and called herself Mary Ann Murray. All the freed men were quartered near where
the Pablo Cafeteria is now, according to the old woman, and would go every week to the Arsenal commissary to receive
rations. Later the colony broke up and many of the negroes moved to what is now West Augustine and Lincolnville.
Others, however, loath to break away from their masters, wished to live near their old homes, and settled a small colony
along Charlotte Street.

Tracing the Myth
Bloomfield's Illustrated Historical Guide by Max Bloomfield St. Augustine (1883) - The Slave Market - East of the
Confederate monument stands the old, old market. A queer-looking structure it is. Tis hard to name its style of
architecture, therefore we will call it a piece of Augustinian mechanism. Four years ago it was used as a meat market,
but since, the Council and a private gentleman have rescued it from what must have been degrading to this proud piece
of Spanish antiquity, of which very little is known. We have been told that before the war it was used as a
slave market.
Whenever a sale was to take place the bell in the cupola would be rung to notify the public. The reader will please
understand that the compiler of this Guide does not hold himself responsible for the slave-market story, but, in the
words of the old sergeant at the fort, will say: "I'm only giving it to ye as it was given to me, d'ye moind now?"

In 1902 in St. Augustine's
Evening Record on January 9th Miss A. M. Brooks reported that Rice Thompson, an
octogenarian, who has been spending several weeks in this city and who claims to have been a visitor here in ante-
bellum days, insists that the storeies to the effect that slaves were sold in the old market is not a fable, but actually
occurred: and that the name, "The Old Slave Market," is no misnomer.

Bearing out his contention is the folling document, signed in April 1840 by the then Mayor of the town, which shows, at
least, that slaves were punished in the market for infraction of the ordinances:

"Peter, a slave, apprehended by the patrol on the night of the 20th of April, 1840, sentenced to a fine of $2 and costs
(being the jail fees), or to receive fifteen lashes, in the market, on his bare back.
                   
F. L. Dancy, Mayor
                   Council Room, St. Augustine, 21st April, 1840."

The Sunday Patrol.
Patrol for Sunday night the 19th April: J. Watson, Captain; Geo. Zehnbauer, Michael Medicis, Lawrence Andreu, Jerome
Alvarez, absent, John Rose, Gregory Bravo, Fern. Felany.

Instructions for the government of the Patrols of the City of St. Augustine:

The Patrol will be summoned to meet at Market House by 9 o'clock p.m.

The Captain will then organize his Patrol into two parties, one of which will patrol, from the Market, North and the other
from the Market, South.

The Patrol will apprehend all slaves, or free persons of color, who may be found in the streets thirty minutes after the
ringing of the Bell, without having a proper pass from their masters, or guardians.

The Patrol will quell all riots or improper conduct in the streets and are authorized to enter any lot where there is any
improper noise and to report the offenders the next morning to the Mayor.

The Captain of the Patrol will report all absentees to the Mayor, together with all infractions of the Patrol Ordinances of
this City.
                    
F. L. Dancy, Mayor

Public Market
Address: Plaza, at Charlotte Street, St. Augustine,
St. Johns County, Florida
Present Owner: City of St. Augustine
Present Use: Public park shelter

HABS File Card
Public Market (FLA-131)
Plaza, at Charlotte St. Plastered coquina masonry piers, 33'-3" x 60'-9 1/4" (six-bay sides), one story, gable ]
roof with small square bell tower, open plan. Built 1824;rebuilt 1825; enlarged 1827; extensively rebuilt 1887. j
3 sheets (1961, including plot plan, plan, elevations); 1 ext. photo (1961); 9 data pages (1961, 1964).
Card prepared: July 1965

ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION
A. Description of Exterior

1. Over-all dimensions: 33*-3n x 60'-9 1/4" (six-bay sides).

2. Foundations: Coquina blocks. (Note: "Coquina" is local shellstone quarried on nearby Anastasia Island and used
for construction in St. Augustine since 1580.)

3. Wall construction: Free-standing, plastered coquina piers with simple bases and caps.

4. Roof:

a. Shape: Gable roof.

b. Eaves: Plain eaves.

c. Bell cupola: Square, wooden frame bell tower with slate siding; four, small openings are louvered.

B. Description of Interior

1. Floor plan: Single, open space.

2. Flooring: Brick pavers.

3. Ceiling: Tongue-and-groove, beaded board ceiling.

4. Lighting, heating: None.

C. Site: The Public Market is located at the east end of the Main Plaza and faces east towards Matanzas Bay. It is one
of several structures in the Plaza, which is maintained as a public park.

Architectural Data prepared by
Henry C. Edwards, Architect
National Park Service
August 1961

HISTORICAL INFORMATION
The following historic account of the Public Market by Mrs. Doris C. Wiles appeared in the October 1964 issue of El
Escribano
(St,Augustine, Florida: St. Augustine Historical Society, 1964), pp. 1-12. El Escribano is the Society's
quarterly publication.

The Public Market Place
In answer to many recent requests for information concerning the so-called "Slave Market" in the Plaza, we have
compiled data from documentary and other primary sources available to the public in our library. For almost a century,
this has been a controversial historic site. The most significant fact revealed is that here in St. Augustine, in 1598, a
system of weights and measures was established for the protection of the consumer, the first in this country.

Reynolds'
The Standard Guide for 1890 offers an explanation for the old market in the Plaza acquiring the name of
"Slave Market": "The open structure on the east end of the Plasa is commonly pointed out as the 'old slave pen' or
'slave market' . . . It was intended for a very prosaic and commonplace use, the sale of meat and other food supplies
and it was devoted to that use. The requirements of St. Augustine long since outgrew this primitive style of mart, and the
Plaza market has become a lounging place where idlers bask in the sun and exchange gossip.

"It was not until the influx of curiosity seeking tourists, after the Civil War that anyone thought of dubbing the Plaza
market a 'slave pen' or 'slave market.' The engenious photographer who labeled his views of the old meat market 'slave
pen' sold so many of them to sensation hungry strangers that he has since retired with a competence. . ."

Reynolds went on to say that the story was told so often to credulous visitors that some residents began to believe it
themselves. Surely the occasional sale of a slave to foreclose a mortgage or close an estate is not sufficient evidence
that the public market could properly "be called a "Slave Market", which usually denotes a place used exclusively for the
barter of slaves.

During the second Spanish period, frequent sales of slaves from one person to another are recorded in the Escrituras,
and in some instances, the sale of many slaves brought into port by ship, but the place of sale is not noted. The Last
Will and Testament of Catalina Pons, dated June 30, 1818, however, clearly states:

". . .I declare moreover as my property a Negress, "by name Laureana, about 15 years old . . . whom I bought from
the hold of the Portuguese schooner called
Topacio brought into this harbor; this I declare that it may be recorded •

This may have been the customary procedure - to purchase slaves directly from the ship, rather than from any
particular location ashore.

In a letter to the Spanish Crown, written from St. Augustine on February 23, 159S, Governor Gonzalo Mendez de Canzo
said:

" . , . after my arrival I caused a market place to he established, where everybody could come to sell, and
houses for fish and meat markets, where there would be weight and measure, which heretofore had been lacking..."2

How long this first market endured, or its exact location in the Plaza is not known. It probably was in the east end of the
Plaza, near to the harbor landing. Not until a search of the Spanish documents for the period 1598-1763 is made will we
know with certainty.

On February 10, 1763, the Treaty of Paris gave Florida to Great Britain. Juan Jose Elixio de la Puente made a map of
St. Augustine dated January 22, 1764, at the time of the Spanish evacuation. On it there is shown a building in the
approximate location of the present market. This is identified as "No. 24: Stone house of the King, used as the Main
Guard House."

The building on the bayfront shown in the British drawing of November, 1764, entitled "A View from the Governor's
Window" may have been this Guard House.

The map of 1765, by the British engineer James Moncrief, shows a building in the approximate location of the above.
The Thomas Jeffries map of 1769 clearly identifies the building as the Guard House.

During the British period, there was a market with a market bell and beam scales, under the custody of a clerk of the
market,3 but the location is not given. This market was undoubtedly in the Plaza, for shortly after Florida was returned to
Spain, the engineer Mariano de la Rocque made a map, dated October 11, 1784, accompanied by a
document describing the condition of various public properties, among them:

The Portico of the .Market and Butcher Shop
"The market has several stalls in very bad condition, and all of them together form an island of 25 varas
in front and 28 varas in depth near the sea shore at the entrance to the Plaza."

A Spanish vara is approximately 33 inches, which would make the dimensions about 68 feet 9 inches on the front by 77
feet deep.

Four years later, de la Rocque had completed his more detailed map of the city^ in which he shows the Plaza, described
as Square 19. In the approximate location of the present market is a structure having ten sections, described as:

(Four sections numbered 149) A Masonry house with various sections, most of them without roofs, in fair
condition, owned by the Crown.

(Two sections are numbered 150) Timber frame house with one masonry partition and some split lath, in bad
condition, owned by Juan Francisco Arnau; lot owned by the Crown.

(One section is numbered 151) Wooden section in bad condition owned by the Crown.

(One section numbered 152) Wooden section that serves as a Public Butcher Shop.

(Another numbered 153) Gallery or corridor of the same; wood.

One small section or passageway between 150 and 151 is not numbered.

This "island" with its ten divisions, is roughly in the same location as the former Guard House, On December 31, 1788,
de la Rocque reported the repairs that had been made on Crown property. Of the "Public Butcher Shop" he says:

"This space has been enclosed with 370 pine stakes with double bands to the same, leaving high windows which are
closed with shutters of boards; and in the front, a door with leaves has been made; the smaller is closed with a
latch, and the main one with lock and key on the outside, with corresponding ironwork; and the selling table has been
enlarged; also its roof has been repaired with shakes."

In his general report of the city of St. Augustine for the year 1789, de la Rocque says that

"In the island called the Marqueta within the city and looking toward the sea, there are some masonry quarters,
the walls of which are in good condition."

In these he recommends establishing the guard house for the night or principal guard, with room enough for an officer,
sergeant,, two corporals, drummer and twelve men, making a shed or room for the troops and storage for the arms, with
two cells for keeping the prisoners, and two chimneys on the north side. On the south side, he said was another space
for gunboat equipment, and the part to the east "remains a butcher shop and public market."

In July, 1821, Florida was ceded to the United States. Ramon de la Crua made an inventory of the public property being'
transferred from the Spanish Crown to the U. S. government. Item No. 17 on the inventory is a structure called

The Beef Market
"All the ground which this occupies and the Square No. 19 belongs to the government, although there are some small
houses erected by individuals. The above edifice consists of a square hall. The south front is a grating of vertical
wooden bars from 3 to 4 inches in thickness, having two entrance doors, each of the single leaf a L'Espanol, upon
a pair of hinges. One of these doors has a bolt lock and key and in the inside a loose iron pin. The other has two
of these iron pins to fasten it inside.

On the east front there is a grating 6 1/2 feet high and from 3 to 4 feet wide, with six vertical iron bars and a
wooden frame.

The floor of the room is of cement, and in it there is an oak block 33 inches in diameter and 3 feet thick. Parallel to the
east wall is a counter of pine wood 10 feet long and 5 1/2 feet wide, 4 1/2 feet high. The counter joins
the north wall with a door 2 feet wide and 4 feet 8 inches high, on a pair of "H" hinges."

From the Minute Books and Ordinance Books of the City Council from 1821 on, it is obvious that this structure was used
as a public market for the sale of meat. Just three months after the change of flags, an ordinance was passed relative to
the killing and preparation of "beeves, sheep, hogs or kids" for the market, and the clerk was criticised for allowing
unwholesome beef to be exposed for sale.

The Committee on Public Property, however, considered the small wooden buildings and sheds erected on the square a
public nuisance, and recommended their removal as they produced little or no revenue and spoiled the appearance of
the Plaza. The stone market, however, could remain until a more suitable place could be provided.4

Stalls were rented by the month.
The East Florida Herald carried the following ad on January 11, 1823:
(not included in HABS document)

In 1858, the Council ordered that when beeves were brought into market with the ear marks obliterated, the City
Marshall shotlldtake charge of the hides until the brand could be accurately ascertained. The Marshall was also directed
to inspect the butcher pens daily, and examine the particular beeves to be slaughtered for sale the following
morning, to prevent the sale of diseased beef. For this he received 37 1/2 cent per day.

In 1861 an ordinance prohibited the sale of beef, pork, fish and vegetables or any other articles in the market or stores
on Sabbath days, but provided for sale of :these items between the hours of 3 and 9 PM on Saturdays.

From March 29, 1862 to January 23, 1866, the City Council did not meet because St. Augustine was occupied by
Federal troops. Previous to the war, however, the market place was also used for purposes other than the sale of
provisions, after the morning market hours. It was here that the local auctioneers held sales of both real and
personal property. One section of an ordinance passed in 1855 for the purpose of raising revenue for the city states
that a tax of $4.00 would be charged on all auctioneers and other persons using the public market place for the sale of
any property.

And the custom of using the public market for just plain loafing is not new. On May 8, I840, the
St. Augustine News said
that the market was being whitewashed

"to make it sweet for the especial comfort of loafers and idlers. This accomplished, it will form a delightful retreat
for snaplocks and rowdies to smoke segars, cool their coppers and take a nap upon the meat stalls."

When the Council reconvened after the war, new ordinances were passed, one of the first being to regulate the sale of
beef in the market. On August 15, 1870, the Council asked for bids to build a brick floor in the beef market, and Philip
Gomez was awarded the contract, having made the low bid of $225.00 By November 11 the work was completed.

In 1878, a new market was suggested. In July, a committee recommended the construction of a temporary market
building on a city lot, to cost about $200; the "present beef market to be vacated." In August, plans were accepted and
bids received, Mr. Sam Cook got the contract for carpentry and masonry, and lumber was purchased from Mr. Knowlton.
In none of these instances is the location of the new market made known, but an ordinance passed in 1882 states that

"... every day in the week (Sundays excepted) shall be and is hereby appointed a public market day within this
city, and that the market building now used as a market on Hospital Street is hereby declared the public market of
the City of St. Augustine".

Stalls in the Market
The Butcher Stalls in the Public Market will be sold on Thursday next, at eleven o1 clock A. M. Conditions -
made known at time of sale. By order of the Mayor,
William G. Davis
City Marshall

A fee of 12 1/2 cents was charged for having the market clerk record in a book the marks and brands from the heads
and hides of the carcasses offered for sale, -which were required to be brought for inspection, presumably for proof of
ownership. The market opened at daybreak and closed about 11 AM, before the heat of the day, for
there was no ice.

Ordinances for the regulation of the market, and the duties of the clerk were passed, amended, repealed, and new
ordinances passed. Repairs were made from time to time, and the building was periodically whitewashed,

In May, 1823, the City Council agreed to pull down an old wall adjoining the market on the north, Mir. John Lorenzo was
given the contract for taking down the wall and cleaning and piling the stone. He also built a public well at this time.

The following December, it became apparent that a new market building was required, and a committee was appointed
to draw a plan and get estimates, Mr, Daniel Gardiner received the contract.

"... for the building of a market house to be erected on the public square near to where the old market now stands
and central on the square north and south, ..."

to be conformable to a plan drawn by Mr, Van Evour, for the sum of $480, taking security that the house be built of good
materials agreeable to proposals submitted. On June 10, 1824, his bill was ordered paid, including an extra $10 for
additional work. The mayor was then authorized to contract for the ceiling of the market house and for
building six butcher stalls and four vegetable stalls.

This new market building was seriously damaged by a tropical storm on October 2, 1825. The following year, the market
was rebuilt, and in 1827, four more stalls were added.

About 1830, a separate fish market was built, east and a little south of the meat market. This is shown on the Horton
drawing, ca. I840, which also shows the beef market crowded with customers and the butchers behind their counters.

In 1852, it was resolved that no sales should be made until the market bell had been rung, A committee was appointed
to ascertain the cost of a suitable bell and to have a proper cupola or belfry constructed on the beef market.

Reference to the map of the central part of the city, drawn by Mr. Holmes Ammidown on Sept. 27, l877, shows the school
building occupying the city lot on the west side of Hospital (now Aviles) Street. The market was doubtless on the east
side of the street, opposite the school, as this lot was also in public ownership.

Meanwhile, the
St. Augustine Hotel had been built on the northeast corner of Charlotte Street and the Plaza. On
September 16, 1878,  Captain E. E. Vaill, who had acquired the property from F. N. Palmer, requested a lease of the
Old Market and the part of the Plaza east of the city well, for 5 years. The consideration was $1 per year,
but Mr. Vaill also agreed to put a new roof on the market building and also to plant at least 20 cedar or other ornamental
trees on the grounds, and put suitable walks and ornamentation in and around the Plaza."6

The bell from the old market was used in the new building. Each butcher was given a key, and both the fish market and
the new beef market were to open at 5:30 M every day except Sunday. The city lot south of the new market was placed
at the disposal of people coming into town for feeding their stock.

In 1879, W.S.M. Pinkham was granted a year lease on the room south of the beef market adjoining the "city mule stable"
for $16 per annum.

In 1882, it was decided to build a new fish market, the building to be placed 40 feet east of the sea wall and 50 feet
north of the water lot leased to Commodore Douglas. (This was on Bay Street, opposite the premises of Miss Margaret
Worth - the so-called "Worth House") The market was to be 25 x 25 feet, built on stone piers and connected to the
seawall by a bridge 15 feet wide; with a tin roof and latticed sides, containing 8 stalls. In December, 1882, this
work was not yet done, but it was suggested that the public market be removed from its present location and placed
upon suitable pillars over the seawall south of the "basin, at the foot of King Street, to serve as a Fish, Beef and
Vegetable Market, to be contracted to the lowest bidder. This was not done.

In November, 1883, a committee was named to select a site and draw plans, and to secure estimates for a meat and
vegetable market because the city "had been without a suitable market for the past two years." A location was selected
at the foot of Hypolita Street, plans were drawn by Mr, Markle, and bids received. Mr. A, J. Pacetti got the contract for
building stone piers for $857. However, the City Council was informed by Col. H. G. Gibson of the 3rd Artillery that
the seawall belonged to the U. S. Government and that no trespassing would be permitted. An appeal was made to the
government authorities. Nothing came of it.

In November 1884, and again in November 1885, Mayor John G. Long made specific recommendations to the Council
about the city market. He said that the present market was unfit for the purpose for which it was intended^ both as to
construction and location, and it endangered the public health. He recommended the pur-chase of a suitable
site for a public market and the erection of a building thereon as soon as possible for the sale of fish, fresh meat,
poultry, vegetables and country produce, in a central location. It would afford
a revenue to the city. This was not done.

On April 11, 1087, a disastrous fire destroyed much property in the Plaza area, including all but the masonry work of the
old market. On June 6, Alderman Gibbs moved that the clerk be authorized to "receive proposals with plans and
specifications to restore the old (slave?) (sic) market to be as near like the former building as possible." In January,
1888, Mr. A. H. Cornish contracted to rebuild the structure for $800. At the same time a heart cypress
pavement was constructed around the Plaza at a cost of $3,360, and it was decided to cover the old market with a blue
slate roof. The council also decided to fill in the market basins at this time, and Mr. Cornish built a new city jail. But the
city still did not have its new market.

In 1889, another committee was appointed to select a suitable site for a market and Mr. B, Genovar submitted plans for
a building.
Mr. McDonald, whose opinion was highly esteemed, recommended that the plan be enlarged to admit 31
stalls instead of the 16 planned by Genovar. Meanwhile, the firm of Wilson & Kirkpatrick wrote the City Council
proposing to construct a building to be ready for use in 90 days on a convenient location, and take a lease for 10 to 15
years, allowing the city 25% of the net proceeds of stall rents; all improvements to revert to the city at the expiration of
the lease.7

Meanwhile,
Mr. Flagler had completed his hotels, and was constructing a building on his property between St. George,
Hypolita and Spanish Streets - the present City Building.

On May 21, 1890, the City Council entered into a lease with Mr. Flagler for rental of a portion of this building situated oh
the northeast corner of Spanish and Hypolita Streets, for 20 years, for a public market. An ordinance was passed on
December 6, 1890, governing the sale of meats, fish and vegetables therein, and prohibiting the sale of fresh meats
and dressed poultry at any other place in the city. Rent of stalls was $5 per month, or $4.50 for two
or more rented to the same person. From October 1 to Arpil (sic) 30 the market opened at 5 AM and closed at 11 AM;
the remainder of the year it opened at 4 AM and closed at 10 AM except Saturdays, when it remained open until 11.

The ears and hides were required to be examined by the market clerk and each occupant was required to "thoroughly
clean his stall and block every day at closing time. This ordinance seems to have remained in effect until the expiration
of the lease in 1910.

In 1911; an ordinance providing for screening with wire places of business where foodstuffs were sold seems to suggest
that the public market had been discontinued.

Notes:
1 There is no #1 in the HABS document.

2Gonzalo Mendez de Canzo to Philip 2nd, February 23, 1598, AGI 54-5-9; Woodbury Lowery Collection, Microfilm Reel
#4.

3Charles L. Mowat:
East Florida as a British Province, 1763-1784 U. of California Press, 1943? P- 17;and "St. Augustine
Under the British Flag, 1763-1775",
Florida Historical Quarterly, Vol. 20, p. 146.

4
Territorial Papers of the United States, Territory of Florida, Vol. 22, p. 204.

5
East Florida Herald, October 4, 1825.

6Book of Leases, 1866-1894, City of St. Augustine, pp. 58-60

7'City Council Correspondence, Wilson & Kirkpatrick to the Board of Aldermen, May 28, 1889,
-City Commission Minute Books, 1821-1898
-City Ordinances, 1821-1915.
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1961
EXTERIOR FROM SOUTHWEST - Public Market, Charlotte Street, Saint Augustine, St.
Johns County, FL
Street Scenes
Eastern End Plaza 1937
Old Market
Francis Benjamin Johnson
Street Scenes
Eastern End Plaza 1937
Old Market
Francis Benjamin Johnson
March 1888
After the fire
University of Florida
William and Sue Goza Collection
Plaza from Spanish Constitution Monument
with Public Market in Background
(Purpose of pole unknown)
1860s
Sam Cooley
Library of Congress
Public Market before the fire in 1887
Times Union
December 4, 1966
Public Market

State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory,
http://floridamemory.com/items/show/163473
Saint Augustine, Fla. :
W.J. Harris Co., [19--]

Accompanying note "The old slave market in the east end of the Plaza is an
interesting landmark of antebellum days. Called "slave market" by an enterprising
photographer to make his picture sell."
Public Market

State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory, http://floridamemory.com/items/show/161531
St. Augustine, Fla. :
W.J. Harris, [19--]

General Note
Depending on the source, the "slave market" is known as the Old Spanish Market, the
Old Market, or the Old Slave Market.
Old market and plaza, St. Augustine
Photographer:
William Henry Jackson, 1843-1942,
Related Names: Detroit Publishing Co. , publisher
Date Created/Published: [between 1880 and 1897]
The slave Market, St. Augustine
Photographer:
William Henry Jackson, 1843-1942
Related Names:  Detroit Publishing Co. , publisher
Date Created/Published: [between 1902 and 1906]
The Plaza [de la Constitucion], St. Augustine
Photographer:
William Henry Jackson, 1843-1942,
Related Names: Detroit Publishing Co. , publisher
Date Created/Published: [between 1880 and 1897]
St. Augustine from 1920s to WWII
St. Augustine from WWII to 1960
Casa Amarylla
St. Augustine Rebounds
Sequi-Smith House
Villa Flora
Public Market
Arrivas House
Villa Rosa
Canova deMedicis House
Ximenez-Fatio House
Villa Zorayda
Gonzalez Alvarez House
Seavy House (Union General)
Warden Castle
Garcia Dummitt House
Don Pedro Horrottiner House
Prince Morat House
    Bishops House
     
Return to Structure List
Custom Search
Like us on
Facebook