Planning for the Rosario line began on March 6, 1716. Governor Corcoles and the royal officials decided that there
was an additional need to protect the city on its western and southern flank. This line would extend from the San
Pablo Bastion to Maria Sanchez Creek enclosing St. Augustine as far south as the St. Francis Convent. The first
recommendation was to build a masonry wall seven feet high with redoubts. The original part of this line was the
Cubo line which was in a state of disrepair.
Construction on the Rosario line began in the winter of 1718 and ended in the spring of 1719. It was built as an
earthwork. On June 10, 1720 Governor Antonio de Benevides requested permission to build it in masonry.
The request of June 10, 1720 for rebuilding it in masonry, referred to in the decree granting the permission
suggests that the construction of the earthwork was ordered by Governor Benevides. The decree approving the
masonry reconstruction of the circumvallation line provided that the work would be financed from comisos, The
governor begin rebuilding in masonry. In the account of the distribution of the subsidy for 1720, Diego de Mena
Salazar of Havana received 7,049 pesos owed to several artisans "who worked in the stone wall which was begun for
the protection of the city."
The three redoubts were eventually built in coquina: the San Francisco Redoubt faced the water at the southern
end of the line. The Merino Redoubt (Maria Sanchez) was the southwest anchor and the Rosario Redoubt was built
by the Government House. By 1725 the money ran out.
In 1761 the Rosario Redoubt was converted into a moated, semicircular masonry position with a barbette-type gun
In 1763, the Rosario Redoubt was a barbette type "modern" work with no defense capability. Merifo was also a
modern work but its terreplein was smissing The San Francisco masonry redoubt nex to Matansas Bay shore was
referred to as an old, 11 foot-high barbette-type position.
The British Period
During the British period the Cubo line was repaired but the Rosario line was left alone with unconnected redoubts
being built further out. Beyond to the south and then east to Matanzas Bay the Rosario line had disappeared
including Santa Barbara and Merifio redoubts and the masonry ruins of old San Francisco. West of the Merino site a
King's Redoubt had ben built to protect a causeway in the marsh, leading out of St. Augustine to the ferry which
crossed the Sebastian Creek to the Smyrna road. About 1/4 mile south of the King's Redoubt was Indian Redoubt
on the bank of that creek. Also, west of old Santo Cristo Redoubt there was a causeway in the marsh and on the
west bank of San Sebastian Creek, called the new ferry. In 1781 the English added 5 more. They were not linked
together but were in a supporting distance of one another. One of the redoubts was located southeast of the old
Cubo Redoubt. The next redoubt was west of old Santo Cristo where the new ferry causeway began. The third new
work was west of present Salvador Street...then came the existing King's and Indian redoubts. The fifth new redoubt
was on the eastern side of Maria Sanchez Creek south of the city.
Second Spanish Period
Rocque recommended a sod parapet twetwen the Cubo Redoubt and the one at the end of Hypolita Street and then
continue that parapet through five redoubts in that line until reaching the last one at La Punta. The English built line
would be edged with a moat and one or two lines of yucca on the glacis and the foot of the redoubts.