Return to Flagler Hotel Competition
Hotel St. George
211 St. George St.
St. Augustine Florida
The St. George Hotel (211 St. George Street) started with the house of Dr. Oliver Bronson. It was originally a
small hotel provided over by Col. Tyler but in 1887 Charles Tyler, his son, enlarged it. The hotel was located
next to the
Trinity Episcopal Church on St. George Street and King. By 1888 the property was owned by L. K.
Tyler of Newark, New Jersey. It had a parlor, sitting rooms, broad verandas, reading and reception rooms.

In 1892 George S. Fell was chief clerk; Mr. H. D. Wilde, Night clerk; Mr. F. E. Fenton, Steward; Mr. E. V.
Lucas, chef; Isaiah Spencer, Baker and Ben Briant, Porter.

From the Tatler - 1895
"The Hotel St. George continues to be the favored home of guests visiting the city who desire a quiet restful
place, and yet be in the midst of the amusements and entertainments. Standing at the corner of St. George
and King streets, across the street from the post office, and but a step from the bay and Ponce de Leon, its
location is unsurpassed, while the proprietor maintains a cuisine and service equal to any in the State. His
chef has been with him for years, and serves the most delicious and appetizing food imaginable while the
comfortable homelike appointments of the house, its superior beds and air of quiet refinement make life being
under its roof very charming."

From the Tatler - 1899
"Is a most comfortable, homelike family and transient hotel, occupying a central location on high ground
opposite the Plaza. It was opened on Christmas of 1898, for its favorably known owner and proprietor, Mrs. C.
D. Tyler, who is ably assisted in the various departments of the house. Mr. Douglass Broadwell, of Dover, N.
J., is room clerk, and Mr. Harris Durkee, of the "Rockingham" Narragansett Pier, the night clerk. The
management sustains the St. George's reputation for excellence in cooking the good home dishes which are
daintily served. The rooms are sunny, always cheerful and with the cosy office and spacious parlors make a
sojourn a delight worth visiting Florida for. The new sanitary plumbing is perfect and with the other
improvements makes the house first-class."

1909 Florida East Coast - Florida East Coast Railway
Open November 25th to May 1st, Private baths, elevator, electric lights, steam heat in every room. Rates,
$2.50 and $3.00 per day; rooms with bath, $3.50 to $5.00 per day. M. E. Montgomery, proprietor
Hotel St. George
St. Georges Hotel
Colorized version picture on the left with a slightly different
perspective
The Tatler
1895
Custom Search