|Concord, North Carolina
Concord is the county seat of Cabarrus County. It is the twelfth largest city in North Carolina. The city was founded in
April, 1796 and incorporated in 1806.
The early settlers were German: Lutheran and Reformed and Scotch Irish who were Presbyterians. They begin arriving
in the 1750s. The first Lutheran preacher in North Carolina, Adolphus Nussmann was chosen by the Consistory of
Hanover and became a preacher in the Concord area.
Stephen Cabarrus (August 29, 1754- August 4, 1808)
Cabarrus county was formed in 1792 from Mecklenburg county and was named in honor of Stephen Cabarrus. He was
born in Bayonne, France on August 29, 1754. He was Trustee of the University of North Carolina. Stephen Cabarrus
was the Speaker of the House of Representatives in North Carolina from 1789 to 1793 and 1800 to 1805. He cast the
deciding vote to create the new county in 1792.
In the effort to select the county seat for the new county the population divided of the location with the German
population on one side and the Scots-Irish on the other. Cabarrus wrote a letter to the citizens urging them to put away
their disagreements. The citizens compromised and located their seat of government halfway between the faction's
selections and called the place Concord and made the chief street Union.
In the beginning the Justices of the Peace were responsible for the new town but in 1798 the General Assembly passed
a bill directing the County Court (Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions) to appoint three commissioners. The first
Commissioners were appointed in July 1799: James Scott, James Russell, and Matthias Phiefer. The Council appointed
a Concord Health Committee composed of several of the town physicians. It was their job to conduct inspections of the
town and report on any problems they saw.
In 1806 the General Assembly incorporated the Town of Concord. The town could now elect their own commissioners.
The first commissioners are unknown. In 1821 the first recorded officials were George Klutts as Mayor and Memucan
Hunt, John Travis, David Storke, John F. Mahan, and R. Martin were the commissioners.
In March 1837 in the first surviving town records the Mayor was J. L. Beard and the Commissioners were William J.
Blume, Thomas S. Henderson, Richard C. Carson, Samuel Kesler and Edwin R. Gibson. The title of Mayor wasn't used
till 1871. Before that time the mayor was known as Magistrate of Police and intendent of police.
In 1871 the first man with the official title of Mayor was J. S. Fisher. The elected councilman for 1871 were: George W.
Brown, D. M. Fink, P. B. Means, and W. A. Patterson.
The first official constable was appointed in 1837 and the town also had patrollers before the Civil War.
On the court house lawn is a monument to Cabarrus County Confederate dead. There is no listing of the dead on the
monument. The monument has been the site of remembrances of the Confederate soldiers who died. Public school
participation stopped in the 1960s.
North Carolina was the tenth sate to join the Confederate States of America on May 20, 1861.
Company F, 1st North Carolina Cavalry was organized in Concord during the month of May 1861 by Captain Rufus
Barringer (December 2, 1821 - February 3, 1895). The commissioned officers were Lt. Jacob A. Fisher, 2nd Lt. Milas
Johnston, and 3rd Lt. Wiley A. Barrier. Mrs. Dr. Gibwson, Mrs. Dr. Bingham, Mrs. Rufus Barringer, and Mrs. Mahan
created the flag for the Cabarrus Rangers. The Cabarrus Guards were another group of men from Cabarrus that were
part of the CSA. Captain Barringer would later become General Barringer. He commanded the Rangers through Brandy
Station and Gettysburg. He was promoted to major on August 16, 1863 then Lt. Colonel on October 17, 1863. He was
assigned to temporary command of the 4th NC Cavalry and was then commissioned as a brigadier general of a brigade
of NC cavalry under W. H. F. Lee's Division. He was captured on April 2, 1865 and held at Fort Delaware Prison in
On April 5, 1865 while Gen. Barringer was imprisoned at City Point, he met Abraham Lincoln - the President's first
encounter with a Confederate General. Lincoln had never met a Confederate General and had requested to meet one.
Abraham Lincoln went to City Point to meet Gen. Barringer. Lincoln is alleged to have greeted Gen. Barringer warmly,
stating, "You know I have never seen a real live rebel general in uniform". Abraham Lincoln was a close friend of Gen.
Barringer's oldest brother Daniel Moreau Barringer. They had served together in Congress 1844 - 1849. After the
meeting, Lincoln had Gen. Barringer moved to Fort Delaware where he would receive better treatment and living
Gen. Rufus Clay Barringer was married to Eugiena Erixine Morrison, the sister of Mary Anna Morrison Jackson and wife
of Gen. Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson. Eugiena had another sister, Isabella S. Morrison Hill who was the wife of
Confederate Gen. "D H" Daniel Harvey Hill. Gen. "D H" Hill had been a student at VMI when Gen. Jackson was on the
VMI faculty. Gen. Hill taught mathematics at Davidson College after the war. D.H. and Isabella are buried in the Davidson
College Cemetery, Davidson, Mecklenburg County, NC. Eugenia Erixene Morrison Barringer is buried in Memorial
Gardens, Concord, NC.
Other soldiers from Cabarrus County include:
John Allen, Private. Enlisted 7/7/1862 in Cabarrus Co. at age 29. 6/2/1864 deserted at Bermuda Hundred, VA;
6/11/1864 took Oath of Amnesty.
Charles Barnhardt, Private. Enlisted in Co. on 5/16/1862 in Cabarrus Co. at age 30; married Milly L. C. McGraw on
December 30, 1857; died on furlough May 1863.
Martin Luther Boger, Co. E enlisted in September 1864. Born January/11/1844; married A. E. Orchard on July 31, 1866
and died 4/1/1921, buried St. Martins Lutheran Church.
Henry Manilus Bost, private, enlisted in Co E on 3/1/1863 at age 18. Born 11/10/1844 son of Frederick Bost and
Caroline Faggart, Wounded in action 5/29/1864 in Ashland, VA. Died 8/30/1908 and buried in Cold Springs Methodist
Richard Burns, Private. He enlisted in Co. E. on 6/25/1862 at the age of 24. By July 1862 roll "Not reported. Gone as
Solomon C. Carriker, Private. He was enlisted in Co. E on 7/7/1862. He had married Elizabeth Daniels on February 20,
1851. Present and accounted for through October, 1864. He's buried in Dallas Presbyterian Church, Dallas, NC.
Henry B. Cline, Private. Enlisted on 5/16/1862 at age 34; captured 6/13/1864 near City Point, VA and held at Point
Lookout, Md. He was transferred to Elmira, NY and died there 5/28/1865 of pneumonia. He is buried in Woodlawn
National Cemetery (Elmira Prison Graveyard), Elmira, NY.
Jessie D. Cox Private. He enlisted on 3/15/1863. He was born 3/3/1827 and Married Lucy Ann Hartsell 11/1/1848. Died
10/9/1911 and buried in Center Grove Methodist Church Cemetery.
Peter Cruse, Private. Enlisted on 4/15/1862. He was born 2/2/1827 and married Mary Ann Hartman on 11/8/1847. He
was captured 4/3/1865 near Petersburg and held at Hart's Island, NY. He was released 6/19/1865 after taking Oath of
Allegiance. He died 7/13/1887 and was buried in Organ Lutheran Church Cemetery.
Paul Endy, Private. He enlisted in Co. E on 7/7/1862 at the age 34. He was born August 2, 1829. He died on July 8,
1902 and was buried in the Rocky River Presbyterian Church Cemetery.
Daniel Cicero Faggert Private. He enlisted in co. 3 on 4/15/1863. He was born on 2/23/1826 and married Rebecca
House on 3/24/1851. 11/23/1864 he was furloughed from Richmond hospital for 60 days and admitted 1/17/1865 to
Charlotte hospital with gunshot wound to "lower extremities left";. He died 5/22/1904 and is buried in St. John's Lutheran
John F. File, Private. He enlisted in Co. E on 4/15/1863. He was wounded in the leg and captured 7/4/1863 at South
Mountain, held at Ft. McHenry. He was transferred 7/9/1863 to Ft. Delaware and released 6/19/1865 after taking the
Oath of Allegiance.
Simon Peter Finks, Private. Enlisted in Co 3. on 7/7/1862 at age 27. He was wounded in action 6/21/1863 in Upperville,
VA and died in hospital.
Caleb A. Fisher, Private. He enlisted in Co. E on 4/15/1863. He was born 12/23/1827 and married Martha A. Meanes on
12/17/1850. He was captured 6/13/1864 near City Point, VA and held at Point Lookout, MD. He was transferred
7/9/1864 to Elmira, NY and released 6/11/1865 after taking Oath of Allegiance. He died 1/23/1900 and was buried in the
Trinity Lutheran Church Cemetery.
E. M. Foard, Private. Enlisted in Co. E on 7/7/182. He was captured 4/3/1865 near Petersburg and held at Hart's Island,
NY until release on 6/19/1865 after taking the Oath of Allegiance.
Adam Monroe Furr, Private. Enlisted on 7/7/1862 at age 20. He was born 10/29/1841. He was captured 7/4/1863 at
South Mountain. He was held at Ft McHenry, Ft. Delaware and Point Lookout. He died there 1/28/1864 of a knife wound.
He was buried in the Confederate Cemetery, Point Lookout.
Allen Furr, Private. He enlisted in Co. E on 6/14/1862 at age 42.
On April 3, 1865 Richmond fell. Jefferson Davis retreated south with his Attorney General George Davis, Secretary of
the Treasury George Trenholm, Secretary of State Judah P Benjamin and Secretary of War John C. Breckenridge. He
arrived at Greensboro on April 11, 1865 Finally on April 18th they reached Concord where Judge Victor C. Barringer
offered his house to the fleeing President and his party. He traveled further south until his capture on May 10 near
President Davis was being escorted by a company of Tennessee Cavalry. The Tennessee Cavalry unit camped on the
lawn of Central Methodist Church which was located across the street from Judge Barringer's home. During President
Davis' stay in the home of Victor, President Davis played chess with Victor's nephew, Paul Brandon Barringer. Paul was
living with his Uncle Victor because his father Gen. Rufus Barringer was off at war and the fact that his mother, Eugenia
Erixine Morrison Barringer, had died prior to the war.
Paul Brandon Barringer would go on to attend the University of Virginia receiving a medical degree. Paul would stay on
at UVA as a member of the faculty and would later become the President of what is now Virginia Tech University in
Blacksburg, VA. Paul's mother is buried in the First Presbyterian Church Cemetery, now known as Memorial Gardens, in
Concord, Cabarrus County, NC.
The Confederate Memorial Hall and Memorial Library was started in 1939 by the City of Concord and the local chapters
of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. The Historic Cabarrus Association is today's holder of the old museum.
The town was occupied by the 92nd Illinois Mounted Infantry Regiment after the war. When the Union commander of the
92nd learned that President Jefferson Davis had enjoyed the comforts of Victor Clay Barringer's home in Concord
during Davis' flight further south to evade capture, the 92nd commander ordered a banner to be made of US flags and
stretched over the street in front of Victor Barringer's home. This was insulting to the citizens of Concord so they
responded by not walking or driving their wagons and carriages under the banner. They would go around the block if
necessary. The 92nd was mustered out at Concord, North Carolina, and paid and discharged from the service at
Chicago, Ill., July 10, 1865.
Firemen were unpaid volunteers. The Concord Hose and Reel Company had 27 volunteer members and was organized
in 1887. The Concord Hook and Ladder Company had 20 African-American volunteers and was organized by 1896. The
paid fire department was created in December 1900 with one paid fireman, one fire wagon and four horses. In 1903 the
fire department office was located in City Hall. The City hall contained the offices of the Chief of Police, the City Tax
Collector and the Mayor. The second floor contained an "Opera House" for traveling companies of Shakespeare and
The first cotton mill was organized in 1839. The plant was in full operation by 1842. By 1850 the plant employed 70
persons. After the war the plant remained with the North Carolina Railroad. Captain J. M. Odell purchased the Concord
Cotton Factory in 1877. J. W. Cannon started the first of his textile companies in 1887.
Warren C. Coleman (1849-1904), an African-American also launched a textile plant in Concord that would become part
of the Cannon chain. Coleman was the slave son of General Rufus C. Barringer (CSA) and Roxanna Coleman. In the
1890s he was the wealthiest African American in the state. He was a leader in North Carolina Industrial Association
formed in 1888 to help African-American businesses. Colmen's partners were James Walker Hood, John C. Dancy,
Edward A. Johnson and other elite. The two white backers were Julian S. Carr and Benjamin N. Duke. The cornerstone
was laid in 1898 with Congressman George H. White as the main speaker. In 1900 at the Exposition Universal in Paris
the factory was billed as "the only Negro cotton mill in the U. S."
The town needed a bank for its industry. That was started in 1888 by Daniel Branson Coltrane a Confederate veteran
who rode with Jeb Stuart. He started the Concord National Bank
In 1886 P. B. Fetzer was contracted by the city to install 6 to 10 hydrants on Union Street. In 1887 Fetzer built a
reservoir behind his business to hold water for the Union Street hydrants. Concord purchased Fetzer's water plant on
July 13, 1901. Water use has grown from Cold Water Creek, Lake Concord, Lake Fisher and Lake Howard.
The Presbyterians bought land for their Concord church in 1804. The Methodist church was born in 1837. The
Lutherans from Cold Water built at the St. James Lutheran Church in 1843. The African-Americans started the Zion Hill
A.M.E. Zion Church in pre-Civil War 1859. Price Memorial A.M.E. Zion was established as a break away in 1895.The
Baptist moved from Cold Water Baptist Church to the County Courthouse in 1886. First Baptist held their first service at
Spring and Grove Streets in January 1889.
United Church of Christ
First Congregational Church was started in 1902 with members from Price Temple. The Reformed Church held services
in the courthouse in 1880. This became Trinity Reformed Church and is Trinity United Church of Christ today.
In the beginning the Episcopals met in the home of Mrs. James C. (Betty) Gibson. Rev. Francis Murdock, rector at St.
Luke's Church in Salisbury came twice a month for services. The Episcopals congregation met in the old Presbyterian
church building and purchased it for $500. The pastors were Rev. G. H. Edwards, Rev. Percy Eubanks and Rev. E. A.
Osborne the superintendent of the Thomson Orphanage. In 1890 the old Presbyterian church was sold in the
anticipation of building a new building. The cornerstone was set in November, 1891. In 1892 they built a English Gothic
architecture church designed by Silas McBee. This church became the All Saints Episcopal Church. Rev. J. C. Davis, D.
D. of Athens, Georgia accepted the call to become the rector of All Saints Church in January 1893. The church was
consecrated by Bishop Cheshire on April 27, 1904.
Cold Water Lutheran was organized in 1776. This organization was a combined congregation in the beginning with the
Lutheran and Reformed. The union congregation was formed in 1782 with five acres of land. The congregation was
admitted to the North Carolina Synod in 1814. Many of the members withdrew in 1843 and became St. James Lutheran
church in Concord. The church became a Lutheran congregation in 1871. Pastors include: 1775 - Adolph Nussman,
1797- Adam N. Marchard, 1800-1821 C. A. G. Storch, 1837-1841 P. A. Strobel, 1841-1843 W. G. Harter, 1872-1873 C.
H. Bernheim, 1874-1875 J. H. Harry, 1875-1900 L. A. Bickle, DD,
Calvary Lutheran Church was organized March 30, 1913 for the north end of Concord. Rev. Clarence E. Norman as a
ministerial student was called to canvas the area and to begin services. Rev. Bergman S. Dasher was called as pastor.
The building was completed in 1921 at the intersection of McGill, Buffalo, and Spring Streets. Early pastors Bergman S.
Dasher (1915-1917), Charles H. Day (1918-1920, Moses L. Kester (1921-1928), Frederick M. L. Speagle (1928-1932).
St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church was organized June 1843. The first church had separate entrances for men and
women and a section that allowed slaves to join the worship service. The second structure was built in 1881 as an
English Renaissance church with a spire towering 115 feet. The present church is a Tudor Gothic stone building. The
Hook and Hastings pipe organ contains 2,493 pipes. The early pastors include W. G. Harter (1843-1854), Daniel I.
Dreher (1854-1869), W. H. Cone (1869-1872), Charles H. Bernheim (1872-1873), W. W. Bowers (1873), J. H. Harry
(1874-1875), L. A. Bikle (1876-1877), S. T. Hallman, D. D. (1880-1885), George F. Schaeffer (1885-1886), Wright G.
Campbell (1886-1893), M. G. Scherer (1893-1896), C. B. Miller (1896-1902).
St. Johns Lutheran was established in 1945. This church started with both Lutheran and German Reformed roots. In
1771 the Lutherans and German Reforms occurred. Captain John Paul Barringer selected the new site. The new church
was built by David Jarrett. The first official pastor called from Hanover Germany was Rev. Adolph Nussmann and Johann
Gottfried Arends was the schoolteachers. The church was received into the North Carolina Lutheran Synod on October
20, 1806. The church building was dedicated on August 22, 1846. Early pastors include: Adolph Nussman (1774-1794),
C. A. G. Storch (1796-1797), Adam N. Markerd (1797-1800), C. A. G. Storch 1800-1821), Daniel Scherer (1832-1843),
Henry Graber (1832-1843), John D. Scheck (1844-1857), G. D. Bernheim (1858-1860), J. D. Anthony (1860-1867), L.
C. Groseclose (1867-1872), D. M. Henckel (1872-1875), R. W. Petrea (1876-1887), S. L. Keller (1887-180), Peter Miller
(1890-1893), J. Q. Wertz (1894-1896), and S. D. Steffey (1896-1901)
The streetcar was started in 1910 with a battery operated car. In 1912 the car was replaced with a traditional streetcar.
Barber-Scotia College was formed as Scotia Seminary in January 1867 by Reverend Luke Dorland for the Presbyterian
Church. The school was organized as an institution for the training of African-American women. The school included
elementary, secondary and normal school.
In 1916 the name of the school was changed to Scotia Women's College. In 1930 the school merged with Barber
Memorial College of Anniston Alabama. Barber-Scotia College was adopted in 1932.
Early Presidents include Luke Dorland (1867-1885), D. J. Satterfield (1885-1908), A. W. Verner (1908-1922), T. R.
Lewis (1922-1929), Myron J. Croker (1929-1932), Leland S. Cozart (1932-1964).
Stonewall Jackson Manual Training and Industrial School
This site was used for reclaiming wayward boys. Boys were taught trades such as agriculture, dairying, wood-working,
printing, baking, shoe repairing, etc. The school system extended through 8th grade. The school was established by the
legislature in 1907 and opened in 1909 as the first juvenile detention facility in North Carolina. The campaign for the
school was supported by the King's Daughters, Women's Christian Temperance Union, the North Carolina Federation of
Women's Clubs, and the United Daughters of the Confederacy. James P. Cook the editor of The Concord Standard
newspaper and Mary Anna Morrison Jackson the widow of Stonewall Jackson were active in the campaign.
The first director of the school was Professor Walter Thompson the administrator of Concord's public schools. Louis H.
Asbury was the architect who designed the structures
In 1948 the school was the site of sterilization by vasectomy of six teenage white males. Today it's called the Stonewall
Jackson Youth Development Facility for serious offenders in drug abuse and weapon-related charges.
Like us on Facebook
|Captain Rufus Clay Barringer (CSA)
|Judge and Major (CSA) Victor C Barringer
|Stonewall Jackson Manual Training and Industrial School